Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Interruptions and Inconveniences February 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 6:44 pm

I am not very good at staying unruffled when circumstances (or peopleEmbarassed) interrupt my plan.  Mark says  I like to fit accomplishing 10 things in a 4 thing time span. It is my nature.  But that also means this is a huge area where they Lord tries to refine me.  Especially when it comes to mothering.

 For you see part of my nature is also to hurry and for any of you that have one or are a related to a toddler, they don’t so much hurry!  So recently I am trying to take on a new mind set of slowing down to their pace. 

Instead of dragging them across the parking lot, I am trying to relish in the fact that they like to examine and touch each bug, leaf and crack they find.  And instead of rushing through bedtime books, snack and tucking in I am trying to allow enough time for snuggles and giggles and wrestling.  It really does help my frustration level but it truly, truly takes willpower and discipline.

Of course I love the little moments with my little guys but why is it so easy for me to rush through them so I can accomplish the “next thing.”  I tend to look at their childishness at times as an inconvenience instead of what it is, a gift.

As I was thinking on this and beating myself up with “mom guilt” I was reminded of something I read by Elisabeth Elliot.  She is one of my absolute heroes and if you have never read anything by her, please go get Gates of Splendor, Keep a Quiet Heart or The Shaping of a Christian Family. She and her husband  Jim Elliot (along with their toddler daughter) were missionaries to the Auca Indians.  Jim and four other men were massacred by the Indians but Elisabeth returned to live with the same indians and share Christ with them.  She is tough stuff.

Elisabeth Elliot shares two challenging quotes.   One by Emily, wife of missionary Adoniram Judson, who says…”the person who would do great things well must practice daily on little ones; and she who would have the assistance of the Almighty in important acts, must be daily and hourly accustomed to consult His will in the minor affairs of life.”

Hmmm..convicting.  How bout this one of Janet Erskine Stuart, “She delighted in seeing her plan upset by unexpected events, saying that it gave her great comfort, and that she looked on such things as an assurance that God was watching over her stewardship, was securing the accomplishment of His will, and working out His own designs.  Whether she traced the secondary causes to the prayer of a child, to the imperfectionof an individual, to obstacles arising from misunderstandings, or to interference of outside agencies, she was joyfully and graciously ready to recognize the indication of God’s ruling hand, and to allow herself to ge guided by it.”

 

3 Responses to “Interruptions and Inconveniences”

  1. Susanne Says:

    Very good post, and you are right…very convicting quotes. Thanks so much for sharing…
    I just subscribed to your blog, so I can keep up with you. Have a great night!

  2. Karl Says:

    This is right where I am currently and something I cycle through regularly. I am reading “The Genessee Diary” right now and Nouwen deals with the same kind of things in it. I call it “practicing presence”. I am too often somewhere else mentally and i completely miss what I should be experiencing. bed time routines are a continued place where I have to remember to enjoy time with the kids too instead of pushing to just get them to sleep. I think this is also part of why two year olds get such a bad rep. We are always rushing them around or thwarting their exploring rather than joining. You’ve got a nice start to your blog so far. I will be checking back. I don’t think I have posted on mine in months:-/

  3. Cindy Says:

    Erika! So happy to see you in the blog world! I can’t wait to follow your life. You, just by being you, have a following of friends and admirers who can’t wait to take a peak into your life and glean some wisdom from your life lessons and thoughts. Can’t wait to see some pics! And, lastly – I so understand what this post is about. I stopped and just delighted in Libby today and it made my day so much more enjoyable!


Leave a Reply

