Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Serve the stranger March 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 10:31 pm

I read a random thought today, by Dave Bunker:

“Serve the stranger not as a strategy but as an act of love.”

I was thinking earlier how I really, really want people to observe my life and see Christ and be so drawn to what they see that they open their hearts to His love.  But the challenge for me is truly doing that like above – out of love- not some strategy that will make them turn to God.

Just loving them and leaving the rest to God.  My intentions are so often not purely out of love.  And I guess God has to provide that love.  He is the author of it.  and so in turn I need to be so rooted to the Vine that it naturally flows through my life.  I want to learn to do that so people come to His kingdom but also so my children see and learn that and become powerful warriors for Him.  I really, really want that.

So my question for you today is:

Honestly, in your opinion what does that look like?  What does it tangibly look like to serve the stranger not as a strategy but as an act of love?  And have you ever seen it?  Come on holler back at me!

 

One Response to “Serve the stranger”

  1. Karl Says:

    It was when I read New Kind of Christian that I first heard some one express that idea. It gave me an incredible freedom and really made the gospel seem like good news to me again. I don’t have to love or serve to convert I just have to love and serve because that is I have been freed to do. I love my neighbor because God loves him. Period. Thats what I am responsible for.


Leave a Reply

