Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Lift me out March 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 11:35 pm

A friend of mine recently sent me an email with these verses:

Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work:
If one falls down, his friend can help him up.
But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!
Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
But how can one keep warm alone?
Though one may be overpowered,
two can defend themselves.
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.
Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

It reminded me of how blessed I am to “do life” with such super great friends. Gals that I can call last minute for help, to laugh with, for a listening ear, for prayer, for whatever I need at that moment.

Spending a time with some of those ladies just really brought that realization home. But I also know that not everyone is in a season of life that includes close friends. I have been there. A season of time where I dealt with loneliness and loneliness dealt with me. I am a pretty social girl and I really enjoy having not one but multiple, close, share what is on your heart pals. When I don’t have that outlet, life is hard.

Eventually it passed and thankfully He brought me some great friends but looking back I can really see things He taught me through those rough times. Elisabeth Elliott has a great book called The Path Through Lonelinessthat deals with loneliness.  I highly recommend it, has to be one of the best books I have ever read.

Beth Moore has a great quote from her Bible study on the Psalms of Ascent that I read yesterday. It deals with connection.

“Jesus is the author of connection. Satan is the author of isolation. The more our enemy takes us captive, the further we distance ourselves from healthy people. If we remain in captivity long enough, our circle will get smaller and smaller. We’ll finally begin to despise (at the very least resent) the few in it with us. Ultimately we feel isolated even from the few until we’re left with the feeling that we are entirely alone.”

It made me think of several people that have either in the past or currently been right there. Things happen, life sucks and you feel alone. But instead of letting Christ pull you out of the pit… you get stuck. You decide you don’t want help, it might be easier to be miserable. And even though deep down you want out of the muck, it takes too much work and hurts too much to reach out for that hand that is trying to lift you out. Sometimes it is the hand of a family member, a friend, a counselor… but ultimately it is the hand of the One. The One who loves us beyond and despite our filth. Who loves us more than we love our little ones.  And even when we feel completely and desperately alone, we aren’t because the Lover of our Souls never leaves us, He is right there reaching.
“Out of the depths I call to You, LORD!” Psalme 130:1

Beth again says,”No matter how ashamed we are for Him to find us in the shape we’re in, acknowledging His Presence in our pit is our first step out.”

Not sure why that is on my heart today, but it is. I hurt knowing some that I love are in the pit. I want to lift them out, clean them off and remind them there is hope, but ultimately they need to reach out and take His hand.

If you know someone that might need this today, pass it on.

 

Leave a Reply

