Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Praying for our little ones March 8, 2008

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 9:30 pm

I randomly found a blog called www.orangefamilies.com.  Great site.  Check it out.  Adam Flynt is the Family Ministry Pastor at Access Church in Jacksonville, FL.  I found the site b/c I was tracking the name Access Church for another adventure I am involved with that you can semi-follow at this site www.accesschurchonline.blogspot.com

Anyways he recently has been doing a series on Leading Your Child to Christ and this week talked about praying for our children.  I left a comment that was (yes I talk/write too much) essentially a blog in and of itself, so here it is….

This blog in particular is very convicting b/c I believe so strongly in the power of prayer and have seen  its power, but so why do I do it so seldom?  Sure I pray for my kids a lot, but not focused, think about it, what is truly on my heart kind of prayer.  If I take time to make them eat vegetables, take their vitamins, brush their teeth, read every day, practice piano, etc, etc. isn’t praying specifics more and most important?

We do pray together a lot.  We start each day, usually in the car b/c that is our best reminder (and because they are strapped inWink), praying for the day and committing it to the Lord.  But even that I am challenged to make real.  Not just the same three sentences.  I want my kids to know how to bring everything to God and let Him deal with what is truly going on in my heart and mind.

So thanks for the challenge to hopefully:) get my tail out of bed in the morning and before the crazy critters start their demands, pray for them!

 

Leave a Reply

