Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

A Praying Mom March 18, 2008

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 9:43 pm

I am doing a great book/Bible study based on the book, A Woman After God’s Own Heart.  It is soooo good and sooo hard!  It is kicking my butt.  But the chapter I am on is about motherhood and included this great poem that I am including here.  Inspires and challenges me….

 

Some have had kings in their lineage,
Some to whom honor was paid.
Not blest of my ancestors-but,
I have a mother who prays.

I have a mother who prays for me
And pleads with the Lord every day for me.
Oh what a difference it makes for me-
I have a mother who prays.

Some have worldly success
And trust in riches they’ve made-
This is my surest asset,
I have a mother who prays.

My mother’s prayers cannot save me,
Only mine can avail;
But mother introduces me to Someone-
Someone who never could fail.

Oh yes…I have a mother who prays for me.
And pleads with the Lord every day for me,
O what a difference it makes for me-
I have a mother who prays.
-Author unknown

 

2 Responses to “A Praying Mom”

  1. jennypruitt Says:

    That poem was beautiful and SOO what I need to read tonight. Thank you for reminding me A) the value in what I am doing even if I’m just praying for my kids and that is all that was accomplished in my day and B) the value in praying for my kids… I NEED to make that a priority.
    love reading your blog…:)

  2. tonyyork Says:

    Loved the poem. Its a wonderful thing to have a mother who prays… and to be a parent who prays.

    How many of us forget that we can whisper, shout, or cry our needs, desires, hurts, and questions to a God who is closer than our next breath?

    I believe it was Isaiah that said that before our requests were past our lips, they were already in the ears of God. That’s the kind of God that I know.


Leave a Reply

