Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Crazy, mixed-up days April 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 8:44 pm

I haven’t blogged in a few days.  I feel horribly selfish to admit that my emotions are terribly mixed up and my energy feels depleted and I am a jumble of confused feelings.  All this seems selfish because what I feel cannot possibly touch what my husband and the rest of his family is going through.

 My friends have been so precious and rallied around with prayers and offers to hang out with the boys and my sister has been such a blessing and help over this past week.  Something that has so helped me though is a cd my sweet friend Becca gave me on Monday.

Laura Story is the musician.  I actually used to follow a group she was in a decade ago called Silar’s Bald.  Her music is incredible.  She actually wrote the song Chris Tomlin is known for “Indescribable”.  I will probably include quite a few of her songs over the next few months but this one has really ministered to me the past few days.

Make Something Beautiful

When I’m at the point of breaking, at the place where I resign

When I’m at the stage of shaking my head, as I look back on my life

When I’m halfway thru the grieving, but not quite thru the ache

When I cannot see the ending, or which road I’m supposed to take

And all I know to do is lift my hands to You

Take all of my life, all of my life

And make something beautiful

I open my hand and trust in Your plan

Make something beautiful, so all will see

Your work in me, as you make something beautiful

When I’m tired of pretending and I can’t recall my line

Do I say I’m barely breathing or do I say I’m doing fine

I admit there is a yearning for the hurting to subside

But not at the risk of missing what You’re doing in my life

And all I know to do…is lift my hands to You

Take all of my life, all of my life

And make something beautiful

I open my hand and trust in Your plan

Make something beautiful

So all will see, Your work in me

As You make something beautiful

 

2 Responses to “Crazy, mixed-up days”

  1. uschi Says:

    please do not feel bad that you have felt selfish. You are in a very exhausting time. it’s ok to feel tired and to say so….charles and i are praying for your family. I’m glad to know music ministers to you…

  2. I am so glad that I took the time to read through some of your older blog posts. I wasn’t aware that Laura Story was doing her own thing now. I loved Silar’s Bald, saw them several times in the upstate area. Thanks for the tip on a great new addition to my iTunes library!


Leave a Reply

