Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

I did it! April 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 8:55 pm

Whoo-hoo!!!  We were able to go to Charleston and I ran the Cooper River Bridge Run:)  It was amazing… the run and the weekend.  God is so good, way too good to us in fact!

Maura, Crystal and Becca kept the kids for me.  We weren’t sure if we were going until Mark called me at 6:20pm and said, “Are you ready?” and then he came and picked me up at 6:30.  I had the house ready and bags waiting at the door.  Crystal had my boys and I was hanging out with Maura.  I knew Mark’s dad had not been released from the hospital yet though so I was already planning an alternative like dinner and a movie for our evening. 

I am so, so thankful that we were able to go.  We stayed at a condo with three other precious couples.  We ate in and ate out, laughed talked, napped and relaxed.  It was so good to hear Mark laugh and he actually slept soundly which was so good for him.

Mark’s dad was released from the hospital on Saturday and is doing well at home.  Home Health Care comes out daily and we are so thankful for that.  He is set to start chemo later this week.  When we came home this afternoon we took the boys by for a quick visit.  A 15 minute visit is about all he can take right now.

The race on Saturday was so incredible.  I can’t believe I was able to run 6 miles because I literally had not run a lick in over a week.  But running with 26,000 people is an amazing experience.  I saw an 87 year old man running arm in arm with his daughter.  I saw dads running with their 10 year old daughters.  People lined up on the side of the road cheering and clapping for us. 

And God gave me a little treat…2/10 of a mile before the finish line I ran up behind my friend Tammi that I started the run with and we were able to finish together.  This 10k was a first for both of us so starting and finishing together was very neat.  I had some awesome God time running that bridge too.

So thanks to all of you that prayed for me and believed in me.  And thanks to everyone that helped make this weekend possible.  My tank is refilled and I am truly grateful!

 

2 Responses to “I did it!”

  1. Susanne Says:

    Wonderful!! 🙂
    So happy that you guys were able to go and have some quality time together (alone, and with friends…)
    Glad that Mark’s dad is home.
    We are praying, my friend!

  2. jennypruitt Says:

    ok…so glad you had a great time…. Although.. I’m writing because I’m cracking up at the comment you left on my blog… perhaps you’re right… maybe the hot dog thing was a bit of a stretch… I’m not really spiritually focused… I’m just a little nuts.


Leave a Reply

