Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Lesson from Aslan April 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 8:51 pm

The following is a conversation between Aslan and Lucy from C.S. Lewis’ book Prince Caspian,

“Welcome, child,” he said.
“Aslan,” said Lucy, “you’re bigger.”
“That is because you are older, little one,” answered he.
“Not because you are?”
“I am not. But every year you grow, you will find me bigger.”

McCall, Haig and I are reading this book so we can go see the Disney movie when it comes out in May. I read the Chronicles of Narnia as a child but I am loving the experience as an adult. So much of the symbolism and depth of course are lost on the boys but I am trying to catch as much as I can because it is beautiful.

It totally makes sense that as we grow things that stay the same should then seem smaller, right? Like I went to a “theme park Mexican restaurant” in Denver as a child called Casa Bonita. Kind of like a Mexican Chuck E. Cheese but massive. At least my memories of it are incredible. I remember a scary pirate cave, and cliff divers, fire-eating natives and incredible Mexican food. Well, when I went back to the place in my twenties, boy was I disappointed. The food was worse than Taco Bell, the cliff divers were teenagers jumping into a little pool, there was nothing scary about the cheesy pirate themed hallways and the only thing that lived up to my memories were the light up glow in the dark necklaces.

Tonight as I was reading the latest chapter in Prince Caspian, the above conversation made me pause a moment and realize that God is so cool this way.  As we grow in Him, He doesn’t shrink or become easier to manage or even understand.  He becomes more amazing, majestic, sovereign and the depth of His love is what, infinite?  I just love that!

We can never master all that He is.  We can never become smarter than Him (thank goodness.)  Our growth doesn’t minimize or limit Him.  It takes me a minute to make that stick in my brain because it is backward thinking in comparison to what we know in our world.  We only begin to realize His greatness because the other kicker is He never, ever changes:)  I am smiling because that rocks my world!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

