Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

What I do know May 25, 2008

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 10:07 pm

It is 9:30pm on Saturday night.  Our out-of-town guests have gone to bed, the boys are finally settled to sleep and Mark is with his dad at the hospital.  My mind is slowly unraveling its tightness a tiny bit to process and breath.  You know the feeling?I have to admit that it is easy for me to be overwhelmed at all the things at the moment that I “don’t know” the answer to .

  • What the next few days, let alone the next few weeks hold for me and those I love.
  • What to get my precious brother Marshall for graduation since it appears I may not be able to physically be present at the important event.
  • How to tangibly help and bless so many family members that are spread out so far.
  • How to support my wonderful husband and his family.
  • How to plan for this summer.

I love the planning period these last few weeks before summer break.  A whole summer stretches before us with so many fun possibilities.  I love to plan the places we will go, the books we will read, the crafts we will make, the parties and events we will hold, the naps we will take:)But each time I consider these things and “whatever” I consider to be the next step… I feel a silence and a gentle “Just Wait.”  Not real good at the waiting thing, but I have learned to recognize that.  and thankfully I recognize that this does not have to be scary or frustrating if I can rest and trust in the One who holds my past, present and future in the palm of His hand.  He knows and He loves me:)   That is what I do know and I do believe.  I know that in this moment, even when I may not understand His ways, I TRUST HIM.  …deep breath…Final thought, another quote from Gary Thomas.

While few of us would (or even should) have the courage to willingly choose sorrow, when we find ourselves in it, if we quieted our souls down – if we learned to float in it rather than thrash about like a drowning emotional victim – we might find,…., that it can be used to set us free.

Hmmm, how about that?

 

Leave a Reply

