Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Confessions of the Unbalanced May 29, 2008

Filed under: Deep thoughts,Family Life — erikaivory @ 8:04 pm

Life is a balancing act and I am usually teetering one way or another, desperately trying to stay on the beam.  “Balance” seems to be an elusive term.  What does it really look like?  We all understand how our priorities should look and line up but when it comes to the nitty gritty decisions in everyday life, how do I consistently make the right ones to keep me on track and standing upright, instead of leaning precariously, frantically waving my arms and holding my breath so I don’t fall?I read by Craig Groeschel, I believe, a blog about how balance is kind of relative and needs to be looked at depending on the season in your life.  For instance where your time needs to be weighted, depending on ages of your children, health situations, job situations, etc.  I do like that thought, but it still leaves me facing so many daily decisions like:

  •  do I get up early for time with the Lord or sneak 20 extra minutes of sleep to help my sanity?
  • do I have a sugar and caffeine laden cup of coffee or drink another bottle of water?
  • now do I make myself go to the gym (since I surely chose the coffee) or take the half hour to rush a shower and look presentable?
  • do I tackle laundry, dishes, cleaning or do I play with the boys and go to the park?
  • do I go to the grocery store (oh horrors!) and cook a healthy dinner or do I watch a friends kiddos and pick up Little Caesars?
  • do I work on homework with McCall while the other boys play with playdough (resulting in prayers for patience and clean up) or do I skip the activity and send them outside for trampoline time and popsicles?
  • do I cook dinner and do a quick clean up while the boys watch tv or do I try to cook while they whine and cry and pull on me and the house ends up trashed?
  • do I spend an hour sitting with my husband watching tv or do I finally finish cleaning the kitchen and folding the laundry so the day starts with a somewhat straightened house?

I know you understand.  Sometimes it just seems like there is no winning scenario.  So I breath deeply and celebrate each small victory.  And I guess try to give myself a break and realize that this feeling of vertigo is a season?  I hope?

 

3 Responses to “Confessions of the Unbalanced”

  1. crystal Says:

    If you find the “right” answers to those questions in the Bible, will you please let me know?

  2. Thank you for sharing and capturing the struggle so well! I think more of us can relate than we may care to admit…

  3. beanie Says:

    I’m with you Erica. I think we all are! People say all the time that as mothers we should take the time out for ourselves, but, when?? What do we not do that we need to be doing to take the time out? What should we cut out: time with our children, our family, our husbands, our God? The quest is just that: a quest. I agree with Crys, when you figure it out please let the rest of us know so we can struggle no longer!


Leave a Reply

