Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

The Real Me June 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 10:22 pm

I follow a blog by Carlos Whittaker.  He is a minister at Buckhead Church in Atlanta.  Fascinating fellow in many strange ways, but I have now become addicted to his charming wife’s blog, www.whittakerwoman.typepad.com .

She has an entry today about authenticity and transparency.  It is really hard living life out loud, for real, and being authentic.  Showing my foibles, flaws, problems, dirt…. and not really apologizing for being human.  But I so want to be that kind of person.  I am not perfect.  Most days I am some form of a mess. 

For instance Mark wagered that I would have at least 6 major, crying melt downs this summer.  I will probably have more but you better bet I am going to call one of you before I call him, b/c I don’t want him to know if I melt down.  Why?  Because sometimes it is even hard to let my husband know what a mess I can be. (And yes, he regretted making the comment as soon as it came out of his mouth.  He said it b/c Eli told him I cried that day and locked myself in the office while I was just trying to exercise for 20 minutes and they would not leave me alone!!!)

So I am trying to be “real.”  And if I seem like more of a mess than usual it is b/c this is truly how I have been the whole time:)  Surprise!  Check out whittaker woman, she has a lot of neat stuff to share.

 

3 Responses to “The Real Me”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    I read this same post from whittaker woman today too and loved it. It’s so true. So many times I hold back who I really am for fear of people judging me. I need to stop being concerned with the opinion of others and be who I am all the time – the me that God created me to be!

  2. Mom Says:

    Hey there…you are just too cute. And apparently don’t have enough chocolate around right? I remember once completely losing it with you because I just wanted to read the newspaper for 5 minutes and you wouldn’t stop bugging me about who knows what!
    One time I lost it when we were living at Cindy and Jay’s house and Jay’s sister in law was so excited because I was “human”. All the time I was there she was feeling condemned because I never seemed to get upset. See sometimes we can be a blessing in our humanness!!
    You are doing such a wonderful job every day of your life, don’t let the devil give you one single moment to doubt yourself!!!!
    I love you.
    Mom

  3. Kim Says:

    Erika,
    As Moms, sometimes we need to celebrate the positives in our day: for instance, you could have locked your kids in the office, or given them a hefty dose of Benadryl. But you did the right thing by giving yourself some time. Being a Mom is amazing, but incredibly hard (there is a reason for that).


Leave a Reply

