Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Wrestling matches, melt-downs and waterworks June 17, 2008

Filed under: Family Life — erikaivory @ 9:19 pm

I told Mark yesterday that my day consists of the boys pummeling each other and one or more of the boys having a crying fit.  We alternate between these two experiences constantly throughout the day.  They love to beat the crap out of each other and then cry hysterically.  Or the opposite happens and one of them melts down for some unknown reason and then one of the other boys will make fun or just decide to begin pummeling his brother.It is literally craziness and driving me crazy.  To avoid time at home alone with all of this pent up testosterone we literally spent from 9:30-2pm at the YMCA (exercise for mom and then pool time) then I drove around while Eli slept until we picked up McCall from Inventor’s camp at 3:30pm and then went back to the pool until a thunder storm ruined the fun.  You would think by our 5pm return home they would be starting to wear down, but no.  Mark came home and wrestled with them for half an hour.  I have to figure out how to put the video on here b/c it is hilarious.  Eli has no fear and bodyslams anyone and anything, over and over.Yes McCall is going to Inventor’s camp this week.  He loves it.  I am not exactly sure what one does at this camp but he says he is inventing a robotic arm to make his life easier so it can make his bed every morning.  I asked if I could borrow it for other household tasks.  A little laundry, a little cleaning, a little cooking:)I would love to be excited about taking my boys to free movies, library time, etc.  But I am realizing that unless a large portion of their time is incredibly active…. we are back to them pummeling each other and crying jags. We have been to the pool tons and will continue to do so but I think we are going to have to do a beach trip soon and invest in some FunDayGo time. We have done the splash pad but Eli is not really very keen on it.  We have a kiddie pool at home that they enjoy, but does anybody have any other suggestions? Don’t get me wrong, I am loving summer but also realizing that my summer crafts, story times and quiet afternoons may not be totally realistic with three little boys.    I wouldn’t trade it for the world though!!! dsc00184.JPG

 

3 Responses to “Wrestling matches, melt-downs and waterworks”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    First of all, if McCall get this robotic arm invented I would like one too please.

    I took Matthan to EdVenture Children’s Museum in Columbia today and he loved it! It was so much fun and very entertaining. The great thing about it is that it would keep all three of your boys busy and active – they have something for every age. Let me know if you decide to go, Matthan might just like to go again!

  2. Anita Says:

    Hey Girl!
    Summer is wearing me out too, but in a good way! We have started putting the baby pool at the bottom of the slide on the swingset. When that gets old we put our Kmart slip-n-slide at the bottom of the slide, lather it with bubbles and spray it with water. I’ve let them make mud pies-they would do that every day! They want me to buy some moon sand. You have a trampoline with a net? It’s fun to spray them with water as they jump. I didn’t really understand the Chapman Summer Camp until now! You have to keep them busy! I do try to have at least an hour of room time where they play by themselves every day. Ella still takes a nap lots of days.
    Anita

  3. Britton Copeland Epps Says:

    HI there, I went to highschool with mark and just wanted to let you know that I have three boys as well, the same ages, and we too have the fighting and meltdowns. It is nice to know we are not alone in our daily walk in raising boys. Your little ones are precious.
    Britton Copeland Epps


Leave a Reply

