Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Contentment July 7, 2008

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 8:26 pm

Trying to learn contentment.  Not easy.  Read recently in Life on Hold,

Jeremiah Burrough, a puritan preacher and reformer in seventeenth-century England, defined it as the ‘sweet, inward, quiet, gracious frame of spirit, which freely submits to and delights in God’s wise and fatherly disposal in every condition.'”

The book also talked about Joni Eareckson Tada, who became paralyzed in a diving accident as a young woman. She shares how contentment is a kind of education. She says:

“Although contentment is a direct result of the application of God’s grace in our lives, we only arrive at it through a learned discipline. A discipline of choosing not to resist God in spite of difficult circumstances. A discipline of choosing to believe.”

I have a very good life.  My contentment issues are not concerning having enough food, being beaten for my faith in Christ or living with an abusive spouse.  My contentment issues involve stupid, petty things like when someone pukes in the pool and I finally JUST got the kids in the pool.  Or looking forward all day to eating some ice cream after the kids have gone to bed and when I finally get to it, someone else ate it.  Or wondering if wiping bottoms all day is really living up to my potential and making good use of my 5 1/2 years in college.

Although these are very selfish, petty reasons they still are battles with my mind, will and sin nature.  Do I stew, fret, become irritable and discontent…. or do I process my situation according to the Truth of God’s Word and turn my frustration to praise and fix my eyes on the Savior of my soul?  Obviously still working on it.  Sheesh.

 

Leave a Reply

