Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Keeping up… August 11, 2008

Filed under: Funny stuff — erikaivory @ 9:37 pm

I deal with migraines more frequently than I prefer.  People often ask me if I can trace the triggers and try to avoid them.  Mine tend to be hormones, lack of sleep, rainy weather, heat, stress… and tonight I tried to explain a new one to Mark that I have been realizing.

The onslaught of constant questions from three curious little boys.  As we drive or hang out at home I am constantly fielding questions and trying to come up with intelligent, patient, theologically correct answers.  Here are a couple I remember from today:

“What are food stamps?”

“If God’s finger came down from the sky and you could ride it where would you go?”

“Does the world need gas station workers?”

“Why do our cars hate us?”

“C-c-c-c-can I play the drums, Mommy?””C-c-c-c-can I play the drums, Mommy?””C-c-c-c-can I play the drums, Mommy?”

“Can the tooth fairy be a boy?”

“Can I use your hot glue gun?”

“Why don’t you run for President?”

“Why doesn’t that man love Jesus?”

“Can we give our Bibles to Newspring Church?”

“Pop Tarts are fruit right, because they have fruit inside?”

“We will have cars in heaven, right? Because the Bible says there are streets.  Why else would we have streets?”

 “C-c-c-c-can I play g-tar, Mommy?””C-c-c-c-can I play g-tar, Mommy?””C-c-c-c-can I play g-tar, Mommy?”

“Will you introduce me to neat people when I get to heaven and will we all live together?”

“Can we go to Disneyworld in heaven?”

“Can I use Daddy’s knife?  I want to use these bottle nipples to make a robot that can feed babies.”

“C-c-c-c-can I play the drums, Mommy?””C-c-c-c-can I play the drums, Mommy?””C-c-c-c-can I play the drums, Mommy?”

“Can we watch the meteor shower tonight?  Pleeeeaaasssee!”

So, …… I have had a migraine for two days:)  Any suggestions?  Maybe school will help a bit.

 

4 Responses to “Keeping up…”

  1. Midge Says:

    Wow, how I wish I had kept your questions for posterity!!! These are great. And I am so sorry about the headache!
    I want the 2nd book, it should be mine, I win, you must let me have it, no one else deserves it or needs it or….are those enough reasons for me to get the book???
    That so describes my feelings at the moment…it is a wild goose chase and I have no idea how or why I am here and how I got here or the purpose of it all!! But I know beyond a doubt that I am where I am supposed to be at this very moment in time.
    I do so love you and pray the headache leaves so we can talk soon.
    Mother

  2. Vanessa Says:

    Well, I am sure our trip to Chuck E. Cheese’s didn’t help one bit. Hope you feel better today.

  3. jennypruitt Says:

    Chris and I were dying laughing over these this morning…(see, we can do that with only one little baby girl in the house)….anyway… Chris’s suggestion is to take Daddy’s knife and stab it in your eardrum. Jk! thanks for the laughs! aren’t children precious!

  4. Karl Says:

    The thing that finally helped us with our migraines and allowed us to get back on wheat and dairy was digestive plant enzymes. they come in caplets from vitamin stores


Leave a Reply

