Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Quick read August 13, 2008

Filed under: Random stuff — erikaivory @ 9:21 pm

My great friend, who is also a literature lover, passed The Shack on to me this past weekend.  I couldn’t put it down.  I read it in two days.

Amazing story about forgiveness and mercy.  It challenges how I view the Trinity,what a personal relationship with the Lord looks like and tough questions most people wrestle with deep inside.  Certainly it is fiction and none of my personal theology has been altered by it… but it has helped me make sense and sort through some things.

I highly, highly recommend it.  It is a great read for people that consider themselves Christ followers or for skeptics.  Beautifully written and painfully candid.  And yes, I think a fairly quick read as well.  I foresee giving it to quite a few loved ones as a gift.  It is just that good.  Check it out!

 

2 Responses to “Quick read”

  1. Karl Says:

    That book is really popular up here right now too. Its by a guy from western Canada. I have it on my night stand but haven’t read it yet.

  2. Allison Says:

    Cory and I read “The Shack” as well. I really liked it. I have to admit, I was so into the mystery, that when it turned into the allegory, it took me a while to get into it and get over the fact that I missed the mystery. Anyway, you’ll have to let me know what you think of the members of the trinity. Really modern approach. I liked it. My favorite part was the waterfall scene. So beautiful!


Leave a Reply

