Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Shout out for Plowman September 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 3:05 am

I just finished reading Ginger Plowman’s book “Don’t Make Me Count to Three!” A Mom’s Look at Heart-Oriented Discipline.

Didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I have.  She focuses on drawing out the heart issues involved in discipline instead of simply the behavior that you want to change.  She talks about asking “heart probing questions” as well as using Scripture when addressing these issues.

She challenges parents to consistency, taming our own tongues, using reproof (putting off the negative behavior) as well as encouragement (putting on the right behavior).  She gives lots and lots of hands on suggestions, Scriptures, stories and examples.

Not every one agrees with spanking but I would challenge any parent to read this book whether you spank or not.  It gives the BEST explanation and balanced view of spanking that I have found.  It also gives a great foundation for heart-oriented discipline.  Which I would venture to say every parent wants to reach the heart of their child.

Best of all this is a short, to-the-point book.  I read it in just a couple of trips on the treadmill:)  I borrowed it so I can’t lend it out, but I plan to buy it soon so I can underline and highlight.  This is one of those great reference, read when I get lazy or discouraged with discipline books.  So check it out.  I would love to hear what you think or give me suggestions for the next book I should pick up:)

 

One Response to “Shout out for Plowman”

  1. mauraprelich Says:

    i totally want to read this..let me know when you find a copy.


Leave a Reply

