Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Happy, happy birthday! September 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 12:52 am

Today is Mark’s birthday.  He is 2 years and a little over a month younger than me, (in case you didn’t know), and so from Aug. 8th (my birthday) until Sept. 15th, (his birthday) every year he LOVES to brag that I am three years older than him.  So I love his birthday because it brings it back down to a 2 year separation.

I have to be careful braggin’ about him because he gets more easily embarassed than me but I wanted to share some of my favorite things about the man I love…

  • I decided this week that his amazing smile is my favorite thing in the world.  I remember when we had just started dating and I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about him, we spent a few days apart and one night at church he walked in the room unexpectantly and when he smiled at me my stomach flipped in a way I had never experienced before.  That was the moment I knew that I was truly, for the first time “in love.”
  • I love his compassionate heart, particularly toward the older generation.  I am so lacking in mercy and compassion that he always amazes me with how he can love on people that I am uncomfortable with.
  • He loves music and loves listening to new artists and discovering new music.  He truly has a passion for it.
  • His deep sense of loyalty.  When we were dating I did not understand at all how he could be such a die-hard Duke and USC fan when noone he is related to went to either of these schools.  Now I adore how once he makes up his minds to align himself with something or someone… that is it – forever!
  • His love for Camp McCall and the mountains.  I am a beach girl, through and through, but I have learned to love the mountains b/c he does.
  • I love his deep sentimentality.  In college he made me a tape of some of his favorite songs that made him think about me.  He wrote a paragraph about the significance of each one and asked me to respond by writing him back.  I still look through those letters and treasure them.
  • He encourages me to try new things and new experiences.
  • He loves, loves, loves sports.  A little too much on my scale at times, but nonetheless, it used to annoy me but now it has become somewhat endearing.  I used to dread the start of football season but he has developed such a terrific balance and awareness of when it is getting on my nerves… that it now makes me love him even more.  Nice way to evaluate how our relationship has grown:)
  • He loves boiled peanuts, barbecue, butter beans, banana pudding, fried okra and most artery clogging southern food.  I also love the fact that he introduced me to all these yummy treats.  Although I grew up in the South, it was on Hilton Head and neither of my parents are from the South so I had never tried ANY of these delicacies, believe it or not.
  • I love his dedication to our boys.  He will come home, dog-tired, and still muster up the energy to wrestle, throw the ball or jump on the trampoline.
  • He honestly at times is happier making ME happy than doing something to make HIM happy.  I don’t have that gift.
  • Lastly for this list, but certainly not LAST b/c the list continues, he is wonderfully romantic.  He is a great giftgiver.  He washed my feet when he asked me to marry him as a sign of how he would spend his life serving me.  And he continually serves me, every day!

Now you know a little more about our story.  And how good I have it, right?

Happy birthday babe!

 

6 Responses to “Happy, happy birthday!”

  1. Becky Mason Says:

    Precious!!! I love it!

  2. I am 5 months older than my Mark…and he loves to rub it in too! So I can relate to the picking!!

    Your husband is an exceptional man….I can say that because I have known him since he was an exceptional youth 🙂

    Such a blessing to see Christ shine thru each of your lives and your marriage.

    And btw…. Mark is a pretty lucky guy too 🙂

  3. erikaivory Says:

    Thanks Babe,I love you so much!!

  4. gillian Says:

    that has got to be the sweetest thing i’ve ever heard…he washed your feet when he asked you to marry him as a sign of how he would spend his life serving you!?!??! How could anyone say no to that!?!?!?!?!

  5. maura Says:

    You really are so blessed! And I’m so blessed to have been able to see personally how wonderful you all are for each other, and what a great husband you truly have. You made a great catch!


Leave a Reply

