Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Peace September 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 4:08 am

You haven’t heard from me over the weekend because we spent it at the beach.  Mark’s family blessed our socks off by allowing us to stay at their condo since it was not rented out this weekend.  This was preplanned but of course the Lover of our Souls knew that we would need a little space and time just this very weekend.

We didn’t have internet access (which was a nice break actually) so we could not blog nor read anything online.  We love our nightly routine of laughing and talking over blogs but having a break was good for our souls.  We both ran a couple of times, enjoyed some great podcasts by Perry, Mark and Clayton, took naps, visited with friends, watched football, listened to the ocean, made some new friends thanks to our outgoing little guys, watched our children dig in the sand… and just tried to not think about the circumstances of life.

Not gonna lie to ya’ that things are peachy keen at the moment.  This is the hour for transparency I would say.  Mark was “displaced” on Thursday from his job.  Honestly that is hilarious to me, that term at least.  The cool thing is though that Mark is not displaced, at least not by the Lord.  The term “displaced” makes it sound like Mark is lost or shuffled somewhere or something.  We aren’t exactly excited about not currently having an income but by no means does this catch God by surprise.  Mark is exactly where he is supposed to be and we are anxious to see what is next for us.

The weekend was busy with wonderful friends and family calling to say that they love us and are praying for us.  We so appreciate everyone’s prayers.  This year has certainly been challenging.  Amazing too.  We know these rough spots are certainly when we experience intimacy with the Lord in new and precious ways.  We certainly are praying that the Lord quickly brings Mark another job.  But please pray with us that Christ will be glorified during this season in our lives and that we will listen closely and be courageously obedient.

We are excited and honestly do view this as a bit of an adventure.  We are all about chasing the Wild Goose.  So pray with us…

“Not to us, O LORD, not to us, but to Your name be the glory, because of Your love and faithfulness. “

Psalm 115:1

 

4 Responses to “Peace”

  1. Allison Says:

    I do pray that with you! I love your attitude and transparency. I pray that God’s peace and excitement will sustain you. When you mentioned the word “displaced” I think of my TMJ issue. An MRI showed that my joint is “displaced”. One doctor (let’s compare him to the world) said that it would cause me lots of problems and that I would have to go through a terrible surgery to have it put back where it belongs, that displaced is a very bad thing. The next doctor I saw (let’s call him the Holy Spirit of God) said that there’s no way I should have surgery, that lots of people have displaced discs and have a fine working joint with therapy, that many people’s discs go back to their natural positon eventually. He has used several kinds of therapies to help me along the way, to get me to where he wants my jaw. He went on to suggest I use this time to reflect and ask God what needs to change in my life and to draw near to Him. My point is that the world may say you’re displaced and to get ready for a hard road, but God says you are in a fine position (although I’m sure it’s hard to trust!) and still able to be used and thrive wih His help! I pray that Mark will SOON be placed in a position by the Lord that will make the hairs on your arms stand up and your hands lift up and applaud this “wild goose chase”!

    Sorrow may last for a night, but joy comes in the morning.

  2. mauraprelich Says:

    I am super excited to see what God has in store for you all. Your faith and transparency are such a blessing and inspiration to me. I am so grateful and blessed with this season of peace in my life, but some times i feel like i’m growing more when my circumstances test me more than when my circumstances are peaceful and simple. I am praying for you all and love you Chapmans so so much!!

  3. Vanessa Says:

    Know that we are praying for your family. We love you guys and are excited to see what amazing things God has in store for you!

  4. John Says:

    Erika, you KNOW that you and Mark are in my prayers. It encouraged me to read that you all see this as a wild adventure…and it’s an adventure I am on with you in many ways. These are times we have to cling to God in a new way, at least that has been true for me. I know you all will have a great trip this week to WDW, look forward to hearing about it…
    Keep Believing!
    John


Leave a Reply

