Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Made me think… October 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 9:05 pm

I am reading a Christian fiction novel and a couple lines made me stop for some self-examination this afternoon.

“The fact that I was tempted to slip into cattiness meant that I had better amp up my prayer life.  I’d noticed I was only super critical in areas I was insecure.”

I have never thought about it before but I can be more critical in certain areas and actually those do reveal my areas of insecurity. I hope this will make me first bite my tongue more often and then figure out why I am having to bite my tongue. And certainly then turn it to prayer. Does this resonate with anyone else?

 

3 Responses to “Made me think…”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    These are good thoughts – makes me think too and will make me pause when I do start being critical of others. Thanks for sharing.

  2. maura Says:

    wow very good and so true. I definitely need to work on this.

  3. Renee Says:

    Ditto to the other responses. I never thought about it like that before but it is so true. The enemy never ceases to find our weaknesses and then use them against us. I pray we never fall prey to self doubt and insecurities. THAT’S why God gave us Girlfriends!! Thanks, girlfriend, for your good reads : )


Leave a Reply

