Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Bon Appetit October 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 5:45 pm

Working with these blog tours is such fun!  I hope some of you are enjoying these introductions to new authors.  Well, they are new to us but certainly not new to the literary world.  My latest read, Bon Appetit, is actually the second book in a series by Sandra Byrd.

I did not find it hard to jump into the series though and quickly became fascinated by the fact that Lexi in this story is living in France and going to culinary school.  I do have to say that the book did make me hungry for the pastries described but also hungry to travel again and move a bit ouside of my South Carolina borders.

Byrd laced the book subtly with spiritual flavors and made me hope for a third book so I can learn more of what happens with Lexi and her new and old friends.  I do plan to pick up the first book in the series so I can have a complete view of Lexi’s adventures and I look forward to reading the final chapter of Lexi’s story which should come out in 2009.

You can find Bon Appetite at your local bookseller or order a copy at http://www.amazon.com.   Also below find a complete summary and bio on Sandra Byrd.

Final note, I was not given an extra copy this time, but anyone that wants to borrow mine feel free to leave me a comment.  The cover did get a little bent but I highly recommend it so either borrow mine or better yet go buy a copy and give one as a gift too:)

Summary: In this second book in the French Twist series, readers join Lexi Stuart in a crème de la crème adventure!

Deciding to leave her familiar home in Seattle and her could-be boyfriend Dan, Lexi moves to a quaint village in France to pursue her dream of becoming a pastry chef.  Life among the French initially proves to be less than easy as Lexi is challenged by her coworkers, missing her friends, and failing to master the perfect baguette.

Determined to find her place, Lexi settles into the culture and life becomes la perfection. She finds a church, meets a new friend, and makes the acquaintance of a child named Celine—as well as Celine’s attractive, widowed father, Philippe. Even Patricia, the gruff pastry cook, shows a softer side as she mentors Lexi in the art of baking.

Fast, fun, and packed with French culture, foodie appeal, and unique recipes readers will love accompanying Lexi on her journey in Bon Appetit as she tries to choose between two countries, two men and the faith to lean on God while savoring the surprises life brings!

Author Bio: Best-selling author Sandra Byrd enjoys a successful career writing adult, teen, and children’s books, including the Friends for a Season, Secret Sisters series and the French Twist series, including the first Lexi Stuart novel, Let them Eat Cake. She is also a regular contributor to newspapers and magazines. Sandra lives in Washington state with her husband and two children.

 

3 Responses to “Bon Appetit”

  1. You are a reading fiend, my friend! When I grow up, I want to read as fast and as much as you do. I had to pass on the blog tour deal just because I read so cotton pickin’ slow. Love it but my reading pace is embarrassing!

  2. Mom Edmond Says:

    How did you get this opportunity??
    Love,
    Mom

  3. mauraprelich Says:

    Yeah, what Mom said? I want in!!! Books aren’t in the budget, and the library is still on my list of places to conquer alone with two kids…not quite ready for that yet!


Leave a Reply

