Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Regrets and Verbal Vomit October 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 12:54 pm

I couldn’t sleep last night.  I went out for dinner last night with a great bunch of ladies.  We had fun, laughed a lot, ate some dessert.  But I didn’t fall asleep until about 2am.  Not b/c i had too much caffeine but b/c my Holy Friend was all over me about my mouth.  James 3:8 “but no man can tame the tongue.  it is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.”  was alive and well last night.

I wasn’t talking smack or gossipping horribly but i sure wasn’t letting the Light shine in me.  I just kept feeling convicted about one thing after another.  I have been praying Prov. 10:11 “The mouth of the righteous is a fountain of life.”  i want my words to bring life.  I usually struggle with that when i am frustrated and angry about the boys behaviour or about crazy life situations.  But last night all was well, I just did not let the Holy Spirit filter my mouth.

So I could not finally fall asleep until i agreed that i would be transparent about this struggle, as well as make some apologies.  Thus the verbal vomit.  i have a hilarious friend that often explains situations like this as verbal vomit.  I had no ill intentions last night but i think some silly things I said could very well have hurt people’s feelings though they may never admit it to me.  I don’t want to be the kind of person that quietly wreaks havoc on people’s self-esteem or thought life.  We all know people like that and they certainly don’t leave a nice taste in our mouths. 

So if you know me and see me and happen to hear me running off at the mouth.  Please just say “fountain of life” and shut me up!  Thanks for letting me share!

 

5 Responses to “Regrets and Verbal Vomit”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Thanks for sharing- an issue close to my heart as well as my mouth, “quietly wreaks havoc”- that stirs my thoughts; and this photo, if that’s not a visual to keep in the back of mind the next time I run into some verval vomit. Thanks

  2. Crystal Says:

    I saw no harm in anything you said last night, we were having fun! Anyway, coming from the inventor of verbal vomit and being able to shut up once I start- I applaud you for seeking forgiveness and accountability from your friends. However, that would be the pot calling the kettle black if I were to correct you, so I guess we need to help each other.

  3. Mom Edmond Says:

    You are so sweet! I have note on my computer that says “Keep my mouth shut!” so I guess you come by it naturally.
    I love you for being so transparent. Oh and the comment on your loving fall leaves (on your bio to Heather) made my mind’s eye see so clearly the day you were just about a year old and we stopped at a rest area on the drive from Denver to Detroit. It was filled with fallen leaves. It was the first time you had ever seen them, and you were just starting to walk. You were so very scared of them and kept trying to “fly” through them so they wouldn’t touch your feet. What a great memory!!
    Love you so very much,
    Mom

  4. Becca Says:

    Erika,

    We were at the same dinner right? Guess we were back to back and thus not always in the same conversation. Satan does his best to use us in every situation and I commend you on seeing through his lies, ie: gossip and “vomiting @ the mouth”. I too struggle in this area, especially when it is with people that God is trying to use me to witness too. I think that bringing myself to their level will be a better witness ~ SATAN for sure! Ditto to the accountability of the mouth. I will certainly hold you to it, and thus expect the same of you. Much love and respect.

  5. Soliloquy Says:

    I know MORE than I want to know about verbal vomit. I wish it weren’t true.

    This is an AWESOME post. I love your heart and your transparency.

    Wasn’t Saturday night fun?? I’m looking forward to getting to know you better online. Subscribing now…..


Leave a Reply

