Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Smiley kind of day :) November 5, 2008

Filed under: Random stuff — erikaivory @ 2:49 am
Tags: , ,

Yes, if you read my blog you already know that I love adding expression and smiley faces throughout my blog.  I guess you could say I am animated?  A friend laughed with me about my tendency to do the same things in my text messages.

Today has been truly a 🙂 kind of day.  So this post will be random, scattered but that’s my brain tonight.

To start with…last night we had family night and I will do a whole post about that later once I can actually get my pictures to download, but we had so much fun 🙂 Briefly, we voted on our dinner choices and had ballots, posters, balloons, a voting booth, the whole nine yards.  It was so fun and the kids really seemed to “get it.”

We finished up though with talking about God’s Sovereignty and this Scripture and this one that talk about how God is ultimately in control of who becomes our leader and also this Scripture that talks about how we need to submit to our authorities.  We discussed with the little guys how we need to be praying for our leaders.  Such a good refresher for me night before the election.  Great, great night! 🙂

Then this morning when I went to vote and stood for an hour and a half in line, it was so exciting.  It just felt electric.  Such a buzz and everybody was so amazed at the voter turnout.  Of course where I vote the people that came were all a bit upper to middle class (just being honest) and really dressed very nicely where I on the other hand had too long sweatpants (too tight to to be honest) and a sweatshirt.  I had nice non-showered hair and no makeup.  Needless to say…mental note…get showered and dress appropriately when voting at this station.

But it was so cool to sit and listen to people’s stories and opinions. Veterans and school teachers, doctors and lawyers, stay-at-home moms and grumpy old men.  I felt really proud to be able to be a part of the election process.  Then it was of course so fun to go wear my “I Vote” sticker (we did stickers for the kids last night too:) and get a free donut and coffee. 🙂 I didn’t get to indulge in free chicken because by that time Mark had been home with 6 kids for 2 hours with no energy outlet and I felt he deserved to be rescued.

Moving on…then I could not face anymore time indoors with my three little Mexican jumping beans (that is not a slur my brother-in-law is Mexican:) so we indulged and went to FunDayGo with some bestest friends.  I forgot how much I LOVE that place.  Shout out to John and Shawna Gilman… that place is still so nice and clean and fun! 🙂  Eli skipped his nap to jump so when we finally got home a bit before 5pm we finished off with some quick grilled cheese sandwiches and Eli fell asleep at 6:15 in the playroom.  The other two were done with homework, baths, etc and in bed by 7:30pm.

And then to top it all off my sweet friends, him and her, dropped off a yummy Starbucks treat since they knew my Mark was away tonight.  Thanks and it is now officially an addiction, gotta love the Peppermint! 🙂

So I can’t say that I will stay up to see the results.  Although I am terribly interested, I cannot sacrifice my sleep and sanity when I can simply find out in the morning.  Plus McCall has been waking up at 5am since the time change, so sleep is so necessary these days 🙂

Hip hip hooray for good days!!  So two questions (and please give me a little love here) what voter treat did you reward yourself with and what was the best part of your day?

 

7 Responses to “Smiley kind of day :)”

  1. mauraprelich Says:

    I really wanted to go to Chic-fil-a for a free chicken sandwich, but by the time I got to vote at about 5, I had to get home and make dinner before the kids lost their cool. Then, I couldn’t get a free coffee at Starbucks cause I can’t drink coffee…but Ben came home and purchase my fav, Caramel Macchiato, and I indulged in that….oh it was sooooo good, I inhaled it practically. I should be okay drinking a couple ounces of espresso with lotsa milk and caramel compared to full throttle coffee. Voting for the first time was very exciting for me and the best thing I did today. I did accomplish the one goal I had for myself today too, to go through a bunch of hand me downs for the kids and organize them for next years clothes. And , I made a yummy dinner, and I kept the house clean for the most part, that is always a big accomplishment for me…SO happy for you and your great great day!

  2. I too loved voting!!!! So fun and exciting. Had a great lunch with some of my fave family members, and my girls got to spend some fun, fun time with friends while we moms swapped kiddos to vote. A great election day – truly a privilege – but we didn’t take advantage of any of the cool giveaways. Boo for us!

  3. gillian Says:

    I tried to get free Chick-Fil-A after I voted but the girl said they weren’t giving away anything for voters…. later in the afternoon I went to Shanes for the free chicken strip meal but they had a sign on the door that read “the free chicken deal is OVER” :0

    The best part of my day was getting 2 hours paid off to go vote, otherwise I might not have been able to…the other best part was the joy my sweet baby boy (who’s almost 5) had when I picked him up from my mom’s house yesterday. They can be so darn sweet sometimes!!!

  4. Vanessa Says:

    Best part of my day … when Matthan puts his arms around my neck and says “bluv you mommy.”

  5. Crystal Says:

    Best part of my day was having a great friend and her husband watch my kids so I could go vote without waiting in line with three “little monkeys!!” I did head to Kristpy Kreme around 7pm and got a free “hot now” doughnut- life doesn’t get much better than that!!

  6. Kelly Says:

    4 and a half hours in line, but the best part was that I was there with my husband and we saw LOTS OF PEOPLE WE KNEW! Pretty exciting stuff for relative newbies to the area. I am so glad Richard was off of work. We did nit indulge in free starbucks bcs we were famished by the end, so we stopped off for some Mexican food before relieving Nathaniel of his babysitting duties.

  7. Kelly Says:

    Silly me, I forgot to add that we had women’s worship and prayer night, which was such an appropriate way to spend an election night. I was in such a place of trusting the sovereignty of God in the election. Also, as the women laid hands on me in proxy for Carolyn who was home with a very sore back (nothing weird here–we don’t do this usually, it just gave the women the chance to gather round and lift her up before the Lord) I was reminded that three years ago the Lord spared her life as she was hit by a truck and her car was totalled. She suffered from extreme back pain for about 10 months, unable to sit or stand for very long. After the docs said there was nothing more they could do for her, she led worship for a women’s retreat. She was preparing to leave the stage quietly as the leader was praying for different needs among the women. She could not take the pain of sitting on the stool and leading worship. The leader prayed for people with back pain, and at the urging of Dawn Porter, they prayed for her. She was healed that night! The pain she was experiencing on election night was an anomaly, and it served to remind us of God’s mercy in healing her!


Leave a Reply

