Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

X-hausted November 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 1:49 am

I had high hopes of a great post with pictures for today but I am plumb tuckered out so I leave you with a verse from a book I recently started called A Long Obedience in the Same Direction:Discipleship in an Instant Society. (As I type on the computer and text people:)

It is written by Eugene H. Peterson, translator of The Message, which is a modern day translation of the Bible. I really like that translation and so many great authors I enjoy reference and quote Peterson that I decided I needed to check out some of his stuff. Well, he has written a lot of “stuff” and most of it is really “deep weeds”. This is one of his lighter books.

The book examines the Songs of Ascents which are Psalms 120-134. Peterson uses this verse in his first chapter and I have been mulling over it for the past few days. The translation just really makes it kick me in the gut! Interested to hear some of your reactions…

“Do you see what this means – all these pioneers who blazed the way, all these veterans cheering us on? It means we’d better get on with it. Strip down, start running – and never quit! No extra spiritual fat, no parasitic sins. Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in” (Heb. 12:1-2)

What really got me was…“strip down…extra spiritual fat, parasitic sins…”

I am trying to be brave enough to ask God what exactly in my life is causing my extra spiritual fat. Yikes! So whatcha think?

 

3 Responses to “X-hausted”

  1. I think that’s a scary question that I know God wants to answer in my life. Unfortunately, I think arrogance, complacency, selfishness, comfort, and idolatry are probably on His list. Not a pretty crowd, I know, but truth about what’s weighing me down spiritually.

    I too love his imagery/analogies; thanks for sharing!

  2. …….add pride, being judgmental, and self righetousness to the mix…..OUCH! Love the spiritual fat analogy….all that weighing us down….makes it almost impossible to move forward with our spiritual walk…..not to mention making us a truly inferior warrior when facing spiritual combat!

    Great post.

  3. Vanessa Says:

    What a great way to put it – strip down spiritual fat – good thought to ponder. Hmmmm….where do I begin? Pride, selfishness, complacency to begin with, but there are many more. Thanks for sharing and challenging us to think about these things.


Leave a Reply

