Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Surprises November 20, 2008

Filed under: Health and Safety — erikaivory @ 3:35 am
Tags: , ,

Last Friday morning as I was packing for our trip to Greenville, it was a cold, rainy day and Mark noticed that the ceiling in the playroom was leaking… a LOT.  After some detective work we found spots in the playroom and hallway that were all dripping and leaking.  Apparently the shingles on the front of the house are buckling and now we have a leakage problem.

I don’t do very well with house issues.  The roof is less than 10 years old but apparently a poor job was done and now we will be getting a new roof within the next couple of weeks.  Deep breath.  Mark will still receive a lump severance amount from his company which is a huge above board blessing from the Lord.  We thought this would be used for one or two fun things and then the rest put aside to fill our emergency fund.

Somehow that emergency fund never stays filled for long.  Like we are talking days:)  But honestly I can only praise the Lord, because any other time and we would have been in big, big trouble if we all of a sudden had to get a new roof.  I am learning a lot about how much money and work it takes to keep up an older home:)  The Lord knew our need before we did, of course, and He provided!  He is so good to us!

This is what our playroom looked like on Friday, lots of water

This is what our playroom looked like on Friday, lots of water

Shower curtain set-up on the stairs

Shower curtain set-up on the stairs

One of the cracks

One of the cracks

I am thankful to have a roof over our heads and that we have such a nice man, Brandon Campbell from Burch Roofing to do the work for us.  So that is a new little adventure in our lives.  Most of you drive by our house frequently so you can keep up with the progress as it happens.

Now I just need to relax and prepare myself for the work around me.  I tend to get extremely stressed when work is done on the house.  The noise, the people constantly around, the dirtiness, the safety hazards to the boys….sets my blood pressure on high.  So you can say a prayer that I will not stress, if you think about it:)

 

5 Responses to “Surprises”

  1. Vicki Yandell Shimko Says:

    We just had our roof replaced the past several days because of storm damage. The challenge for me was naptime, because it sounds like someone was going to come thru the roof any minute with all the pounding. Fortunately we have a basement, so I set up the pack-n-play and turned on some music which drowned out the noise. Hope it goes well (and quickly), and the peace of God be with you (Phillipians 4:6-7).
    By the way, I have so enjoyed reconnecting with you through your blog, and I love your fun ideas (as well as the thoughts filled with the wisdom of Erika that I remember). God bless you and your sweet family!

  2. Ruthie Says:

    I will pray. Noise bothers me. Maybe you can get out of the house a little at a time to relieve some stress!!

    Your going to do great!!

  3. Robin Says:

    Oh, I just had men here for over a week doing my deck. It truly is a break from routine! Prayers your way. It’ll be GREAT when it’s done! (Last Friday, at 4:00 when they finally packed up and left for good, I snuggled in bed with the pups and we slept for 2 hours!!!! I was so peaceful)
    Hang in there!

  4. Vanessa Says:

    We’ll be in our house then so you can come on over and hang with us! Yeah! 🙂

  5. Michelle Says:

    Just as the Lord knew your roof needs before you did, so He knows how to love and take care of your boys far beyond what you could imagine. Pull out scripture, tape it all over the house and trust in the Lord. I’ll be praying for you, I know what it’s like to live in an older home.


Leave a Reply

