Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Checking in… December 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 3:31 am

Been gone. Yes, it has been busy around here with Mark gone and things are really revving up with holiday this and shopping that.

But we are less than two days away from Mark being home. Yea!!! The Lord has so provided energy and sanity over the past 10 days. We had a rough spell when one night McCall and Haig woke up at 4:30am and stayed awake until 6am and then had to get up for school at 6:45am. That was a bummer, but other than that we have made it!

Still not myself. I don’t know the last time I have felt this unmotivated to exercise and take care of myself. Hmmm, haven’t figured that one out yet, but I am working on it. The knee doctor said I don’t need surgery right now, thankfully and he said I should start exercising again. But he said I shouldn’t run long distances, which is okay with me:)

However, I am loving celebrating Christmas with the boys. We made a fun mitten Advent Garland tonight. I will post pictures eventually because it is super cute. Still no real insight, wisdom, humor to glean from this soul today but I just wanted to check in and let you know all is well.

Thanks friends for the humor, encouragement and hugs you all have been sending my way. They are felt! Love to you and Merry Christmas!

 

4 Responses to “Checking in…”

  1. Robin Says:

    Hi Erika, glad you are feeling better! From and old person, can I just tell you not to be too hard on yourself about exercising!? I go through ebbs and flows. What I’ve found helpful is to tell myself that for the next 5 days I’m just showing up…(going to the gym or out on a run whatever), I say:”Hey woman, you don’t have to get your heart rate up if you don’t want to, just show up and move for 30 minutes..” I always feel a hundred percent better just showing up and usually feel encouraged once I’m there get in a good workout…
    Thank you for your comment, it made my day. I’m praying for your friend. Please give her my email if she wants to talk…
    rrg723@yahoo.com~
    Blessings today Sweetie~love ~Robin

  2. Michelle Says:

    I look forward to seeing the garland! If you figure a way to get motivated to exercise again pass it on, I’m stuck in that rut right now too. There is a season… I tell myself and right now it’s not my exercise season. Merry Christmas!

  3. Kelly Says:

    Yay! Mark is coming home, and you made it! I know you have bcm more accustomed to going to the gym and getting a really good workout, but don’t for get the value of a brisk walk in the fresh air, alone with the Lord. When I am struggling, this helps clear my mind and change my perspective a bit. I can confess my struggles to the Lord in an environment that helps me to remember how big our God is, and I come home better equipped to face the tribe with a little more love, compassion, and patience (although I confess these run out a little too quickly many times!). This too, shall pass. Love you! Kelly

  4. Crystal Says:

    You made it, Mark will be home soon!!! Hang in there and have a great weekend in the mountains enjoying your family. Thanks for being a great friend!!!


Leave a Reply

