Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

washed December 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — erikaivory @ 3:33 am

That is the word that is printed on the shirt that McCall wants to wear to school tomorrow.  Today was one of the most significant days in my life as a mother.  My little man was baptized tonight!

He  publicly professed his faith through baptism tonight along with 8 other people at Newspring Florence’s first baptism service.  It was held at the indoor pool at the YMCA.  They each received a blue shirt that said “washed.”  It was amazing to watch people that I have shared life with baptized.

He had to do a creative writing project a few week ago about “A Special Event in My Life…”.  This is what he wrote:

A specile Event in my life was when I asked Jesus into my hart. It is vary inportant in my life because I had never done it in my life. It means that I will go to God when I Die. When I was finesed I fellt good.

I was on the swing when I did it. At furst I was gruppy and I whent on the swing. I did not know wat was about to happin. Asking Jesus Into your hart is good. All that you hafe to Do is pray.

He has asked for two years when he was going to get “bap-i-tized”. As parents we all pray lots of things for our kids, but the one I have prayed the most is that my boys would enter into an intimate relationship with Christ and submit their lives to him at an early age. It is amazing to see fruit of this!

So many people have poured into McCall’s life and many of them were there tonight. Pat gave McCall a leather bound Bible with his name engraved on it and we gave him a Bible cover with his name monogrammed on it. He was so excited about everything. It has been an amazing night!

Mark and McCall and his new Bible cover

Mark and McCall and his new Bible cover

McCall and Grandma Pat and his new Bible

McCall and Grandma Pat and his new Bible

So many of my family members live far away and were not able to be there tonight.  I thought it might be neat if people left messages for McCall here on my blog.  So if you feel so inclined leave a message of congratulations for my sweet boy and I will make sure he reads it.  Thanks for sharing in this special time with us:)

 

13 Responses to “washed”

  1. Gina Says:

    McCall:
    Welcome to the family!! The family of Christ is the most amazing family to be a part of. You are now part of this family. I am so proud of you. I will be praying for you as you grow up. You are an amazing boy. I am so glad that you and Reed are such good friends. May God bless you!!
    Love, in Christ,
    Gina–Beanie!

  2. Kelly Says:

    Congratulations, McCall, on the most important decision of your life! We are so proud that you chose to be baptized and publicly declare your new life in Christ! Ma y God give you boldness and increased fauth as you walk with Him! Love, the Perea Family

  3. Crystal Says:

    McCall, all of us are so happy that you have decided to ask
    Jesus into your heart. I am praying for you that you will grow in your faith and become a great witness for Christ. We love you- The Bausmith’s

  4. Robin Says:

    McCall, what an exciting journey you’ve started! I pray for God to protect you and that you’ll grow in your faith. Blessings Sweetie~

  5. Vanessa Says:

    Whoo hooo McCall! We are so, so proud of you and the decisions you have made first, to ask Jesus into your heart as your Lord and Saviour and second, to go public with it in baptism last night. We feel honored to have been a small part of this wonderful day. We love you and look forward to seeing you grow and mature in your walk with Our Lord. – The Browns

  6. Aunt Dickie and Uncle Harold Says:

    McCall,
    We were so glad to have a visit from you Saturday. We wish it could have been longer. We haven’t been able to get to the card counter. Wishing all a joyous Christmas.

    Harold and I wish many years of service to our Lord from a very fine little boy. May he be used in an exceptional way by our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Love and greetings to all.

    Aunt Dickie and Uncle Harold

  7. Julie Baker Says:

    Yeah McCall! We are so excited about this awesome choice you have made! The Baker’s will be praying for you to grow “in wisdon and in stature”. We love you!!! The Baker’s

  8. maura Says:

    Congratulations McCall! We are so excited for you! So sorry we were unable to be there. Uncle Ben thinks your new t-shirt sounds really cool! We love you!

  9. Amy Says:

    What a wonderful decision you have made. May God continue to bless your decisions

  10. Melanie Says:

    Dear McCall,
    I am so proud to call you my brother in Christ. Now, you can be a light for Jesus and help lead others to have a relationship with him too. This is the beginning of many blessings that God has in store for you. We love you!

  11. Cookie Says:

    McCall-

    You rock!!! We are so proud of you, and I can hardly wait to watch you grow into the godly man you were created to be! He’s got big plans for you – plans that He designed just for you before you were even born. How cool is that?

    You are an amazing young man, and we love you…

    Chris, Cookie, Carson, and Campbell

  12. Michelle Says:

    Sniff, sniff, what a sweet thing he wrote. What a sweet time for you as parents and a life changing event for McCall.

  13. Wally Says:

    Praise the Lord!


Leave a Reply

