Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

I’m back…I think March 17, 2009

Filed under: Random stuff — erikaivory @ 2:33 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

(this is a long post but it has lots of fun pictures so don’t give up:)

I’ve been gone forever it seems.  Lots of reasons…vacation, sickness, lack of creative ideas.  But actually it has been a little nice to be refocused on other things.  I haven’t missed this form of expression I suppose b/c I have been a bit empty and this time has allowed me to refuel.

Mark and I traveled  to San Francisco just the two of us and it was so what we needed.  I have been more focused on my kids and enjoying them.  So I am not sure how consistent I will be in the weeks to come.  We have soccer and baseball coming up and honestly I so love the spring.  The park and zoo and beach and rail trail are calling my name.  The dogwoods are blooming and this is the prettiest time of the year in these parts in my opinion.

So I hope you will continue to check in every now and then because I hope when I do post it will be worthwhile.  I am just not sure how often that will be:)  I love this community and sharing what is going on in my head and in our lives.  Thanks for being a part.  So until my next post (which knowing my fickle self will likely be in about 12 hours now that I have posted this) here are some of our pictures from our most amazing trip to San Francisco.

san-franciso-march-2009-015

this is us in Alcatraz listening to the audio tour.

Both of us had crazy flight delays that made our trips way longer than they were supposed to be.  Mark went out there for work a few days before me so we were both sleep deprived by the time we arrived:)  The first night we went out to eat at a fun restaurant downtown, Lulu’s with Mark’s work folk.  It was so fun and great to be able to meet and spend time with his “other family”.

The next day we took the F line (don’t I sound cool) to the Embercadero (down by the water) and visited Pier 39.  We saw sea lions, ate at In N Out, had a sundae at Ghirardelli and then tried to take the cable car back toward the hotel but it broke:)  Fun while it lasted!

That Ghiradelli sundae was oh so good!

That Ghirardelli sundae was oh so good!

I had to hang out the side (like you said Cookie!)

I had to hang out the side (like you said Cookie!)

Pier 39 with a pirate ship in the background

Pier 39 with a pirate ship in the background

Notice the coffee cup in my hand.  Most of the pictures I am in I will either be holding coffee or wearing a hat and mittens.  The locals said it was a warm spell but I froze my tail off the whole time.  I am truly Southern and I am now completely addicted to coffee.  Oh well!

Yes I have a whale phobia and yes this whigged me out.

Yes I have a whale phobia and yes this whigged me out.

If we had had one more day we would have gone to Napa Valley.  If we were there two more days I would have insisted we go on the whale watching tour.  No really I even picked up a brochure.  Why don’t you believe me!

We switched hotels midway through and they upgraded us to the bridal suite which was such a wonderful treat.  The second hotel was actually in Berkeley which Mark thought was exciting.  I just liked the hotel because it was on a beautiful Marina.  They also had a terrific restaurant!

On Friday we got up super early and went with some of Mark’s work friends from Austin (such a fun couple Keith and Theresa)to Alcatraz.  (I lost my new google phone for a couple of hours.  Heart failure but God smiled on me and noone stole it:) I did not think I would enjoy the Alcatraz experience but the history was amazing and the weather was so beautiful that the views were breathtaking.  I loved it!

Look at that view (the scenery not the hot man)

Look at that view (the scenery not the hot man)

That afternoon we took a bus tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito.  We walked among the Redwoods.  It completely amazed me that you could go from water and beaches with palm trees to mountains and Redwoods within a few miles.  And we learned some of the coolest info about Redwoods.  Like when one dies other trees will grow in a circle around it from their remains.  I will do another post along and along about some neat “life stuff” I learned during that hike.  Muir woods was tranquil and full of peace.  And once again cold.

That afternoon we ate at a local favorite, Scoma’s, and it was some of the best seafood I ever experienced.  That night we ate in Chinatown.  We did get to see the city from the top of the Marriott.  Breathtaking.  I know I am boring you with many details but this is the only way lots of you will get to hear about our fun:)

Look at the size of those trees!

Look at the size of those trees!

We got lost in Macy's and found an ipod vending machine.

We got lost in Macy's and found an ipod vending machine.

Saturday was the highlight of our trip.  Mark talked me into biking across the Golden Gate Bridge.  Ugh!  I thought.  But oh my goodness it was incredible!  It was a little frustrating following their map and their were at least two major hills, but it was so worth it.  Our plan was to bike across and take the ferry back but it was so beautiful that we just turned right back around and rode back so we could see the views again.  I will never forget it.  I feel like my eyes were starving and during that weekend they just feasted on the beauty of that place.  Sounds so corny but I just couldn’t get enough.

We also rode through some parks and they were full of people picnicking, playing ball, walking pets, flying kites, jogging… We also rode along the beaches which are of course so different then ours.  They didn’t make sand castles, instead I watched children build rock castles.  Really!  I can’t find the picture but I took a picture of one of the castles with towers they made with the large rocks on the beach.

This was at the "warming hut" on the beach before the foot of the bridge

This was at the "warming hut" on the beach before the foot of the bridge

You have to know that I was a complete dork because everyone else was in shorts and bathing suits playing in the sand and I was in hat and mittens!  I was thankful for a warming hut, but it was still hard for me to understand why you need something like that on a beach!

We wanted to do even more but after biking most of the day and also walking a few miles along the Embercadero to see the AT&T baseball stadium for Mark, we were beat.

I think that is Mark with a Mickey Mantle statue, he was a happy camper:)

I think that is Mark with a Mickey Mantle statue, he was a happy camper:)

Look at all the cute metal octupus and starfish, there were turtles too!

Look at all the cute metal octupus and starfish, there were turtles too!

A view from up on the bridge

A view from up on the bridge

Another view from up on the bridge, wish you could see the seals below

Another view from up on the bridge, wish you could see the seals below

So our last night we enjoyed the restaurant at the hotel and packed up for a long day of traveling.  Thankfully our flights home were all on time and we were able to sit next to each other so it was a nice return trip.  We definitely want to make sure that we take a trip each year just the two of us.  Not necessarily so far away, b/c the jet lag and time change were really hard to recoup from…but we now realize how important it is to the health of our marriage to have this “us” time.

So many thanks have been said but again a public thank you to all the family and friends that took care of our boys and made this possible!

 

5 Responses to “I’m back…I think”

  1. Midge Says:

    What an amazing job of sharing your trip! You touched on all the highlights and even made me share your excitement and feelings along the way. You are such a great writer.
    XOXO

  2. Robin Says:

    Oh those pictures were wonderful! Looks like you had a great time.
    (Thank you for all your prayers and support over the past week)
    love to you

  3. Vanessa Says:

    The pictures are great and I am so glad you guys had such a fun, fun trip!

  4. Kara Says:

    Your soooo beautiful! Love you!

  5. Kelly Says:

    Yay! I am so glad you and Mark were able to go away together!
    It reminded me of the trip Richard and I took to San Diego. We enjoyed the Ghiradelli’s too. The mittens do make me giggle!


Leave a Reply

