Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Strategic Dads March 18, 2009

Filed under: Random stuff — erikaivory @ 2:12 am

I found a neat blog recently called Strategic Dad and I really appreciated this post on a book “Worldliness” by C.J. Mahaney.  It included some questions to ask ourselves in regard to our media consumption.  They really made me think and I thought you might enjoy some introspection as well.  I think they would be great to be used to evaluate our own and our children’s media consumption.

Am I skipping or delaying something important in order to watch this now?

In the last week, how much time have I spent on the spiritual disciplines and building relationships compared to time spent consuming media?

After investing the time to view this, will I look back on it as time well spent?

Am I watching because I am bored or lazy? If so, what does this reveal about my heart?

What worldview or philosophy of life does this program or film present? What’s the view of man’s nature? What’s the view of sin? What’s the view of God-ordained authority figures? And how do these views relate to God’s view?

What is valued or considered important?

Is sin shown as having negative consequences? Or is sin glorified or rewarded? Is sin presented in an appealing way?

Would seeing this help me better understand God’s world?

Food for thought:)

 

One Response to “Strategic Dads”

  1. steve240 Says:

    You might find the following blogs about C.J. Mahaney and the group he leads of interest:

    http://www.sgmrefuge.com

    http://www.sgmsurvivors.com

    Steve


Leave a Reply

