Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

It’s me again:) April 10, 2009

Filed under: Random stuff — erikaivory @ 3:40 am
Tags: , , ,

Yes I have had quite a hiatus.  I forgot how busy springtime is and now with the boys in all kinds of ball, it is even busier:)  But the fun kind at least.  I do have lots of potential posts rolling around in my allergy-hazed little head but I have to find the time to actually create them.

Meanwhile I have been enjoying how beautiful Flo-town is in the spring.  I have been randomly taking pictures with my new phone because I just get caught up in how pretty all the flowers and greenness and azaleas and my very favorite, the dogwoods.

This is a picture of a house on Coit that I never realized how pretty it is until I had to stop the car and stare at this gorgeous dogwood.  Look at the contrast between the color of the house and the dogwood blossoms!

1239129851614

I really just can’t get over how pretty the drive is down Cherokee (that is a road through Florence, right by our house).  With the wisteria hanging down and the azaleas of all different kinds of colors and then there are all kinds of other flowers and trees blooming that I am sad to say I can’t name, but they really do brighten my day.  Any Anne of Green Gables lovers out there?  Well I loved how Anne called the road to her house “The White Way” because of the way the trees arched over the road and when they bloomed the entire road was covered above in white.  It has been a while since I read it but driving down Cherokee is a tiny bit the way I imagine that “White Way” to look.

When we first were married I was not incredibly impressed with little ole Florence and not super excited about the thought of living here for a long period of time.  We were married in December and when March hit I started to warm up to this place as the dogwoods bloomed and by the end of April I was pretty much smitten.  I really had never experienced a dogwood tree and so they just took my breath away:)

Below you will find a few more pictures taken around our house and down the street.  Just so beautiful!  I tried really hard to get a picture but it required getting stopped by a certain light at a certain point and it became a little dangerous so if you live in Florence and you are driving down Cherokee from Irby toward Five Points…just before you get to the light at Edisto, look to your left and you will see the most beautiful white and purple hanging flowers and there is a dogwood thrown in and some azaleas nearby… Wow…right now that is my happy place:)

So look around this weekend while you are driving, in Florence or wherever you are and be amazed at the beauty around you:)  It’s good to be back!

1239136668851

I love white dogwoods, but PINK dogwoods blow my mind!

We have a line of alternating pink and white dogwoods on one side of the house.

We have a line of alternating pink and white dogwoods on one side of the house.

But don't overlook the gorgeous azalea bushes below the dogwoods!

But don't overlook the gorgeous azalea bushes below the dogwoods!

Haig took this pic. Eli brings me flowers from this bush every day and we put them in a pretty glass bowl and decorate the kitchen counter:)

Haig took this pic. Eli brings me flowers from this bush every day and we put them in a pretty glass bowl and decorate the kitchen counter:)

 

7 Responses to “It’s me again:)”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Those white and purple hanging flowers are probably wisteria. It can be invasive but it is beautiful this time of year! http://www.arhomeandgarden.org/plantoftheweek/articles/Wisteria.htm

  2. Kara Says:

    It’s so fun how God speaks to us! I took the kids to Maple Park today: showed the boys where Adam and I first lived (across the street from the park)……told them of stories when we had no heat or air condition. We played, laughed, drove around, admired the character of the old houses, soaked in the beauty of how incredibly green it is. When I first left home, that was the one thing I always missed……how beautiful and bright it was here. Have a wonderful Easter!

  3. Gina Says:

    Erika, the white and purple flowers are called wisteria and those are my favorite. After you mentioned Cherokee on Facebook and I was able to leave my house yesterday, I went out of my way to go down Cherokee. OH, you are SO right, it is so beautiful!! I would not recommend driving down that street and staring at all the beautiful scenery because I seriously almosted rearended the car in front of me like 5 times. So, I will try to be the passenger in the car next time so I can truely appreciate the beautiful wonders of God’s hand. Florence really is beautiful this time of year. Every year it reminds me of how much God loves us that he would paint this small little spec of earth with such beauty!! He really is so great! Do you know the legend of the Dogwood Tree with Jesus? That will change the way you think of the tree even past it’s beauty.
    In Jesus’ time, the dogwood grew
    To a stately size and a lovely hue.
    ‘Twas strong and firm it’s branches interwoven
    For the cross of Christ its timbers were chosen.
    Seeing the distress at this use of their wood
    Christ made a promise which still holds good:
    “Never again shall the dogwood grow
    Large enough to be used so.
    Slender and twisted, it shall be
    With blossoms like the cross for all to see.
    As blood stains the petals marked in brown
    The blossom’s center wears a thorny crown.
    All who see it will remember Me
    Crucified on a cross from the dogwood tree.
    Cherished and protected, this tree shall be
    A reminder to all of my agony.”

    Makes me praise my Heavenly Father even more!!

  4. Emily Hampton Saylor Says:

    Your pictures are beautiful, makes me miss SC. I love lavender. To me, the smell is divine. I think I could just roll around in lavender like a pig in mud. Our yard has a beautiful lavender bush in it. Last summer I put lavender clippings in a mason jar with water & replaced them every few days. I love that the simplest things are sometimes the most beautiful testaments to God’s love for us. Every time I look out my kitchen window in the summer I can see the lavender bush & it makes me smile.

  5. Karl Says:

    Thanks for the pictures! we don’t even have buds here let alone flowers so I really enjoyed the pics, but am also a little jealous. Moving to Atlanta and now Canada has really given me an appreciation for the changing seasons since we only grew up with summer and not quite summer. Spring has become especially special and I love the connection between spring and pascha (easter). As we celebrate Christ’s resurrection so does the world around us by bursting forth into life again after the long dead winter.

  6. Kimberly Says:

    I love this post…ironically, it was posted the day after Pack’s and my anniversary. I’ve lived in Florence my whole life and I don’t think I started appreciating the surroundings until my wedding day. As I was about to walk into the church to get married (almost on this day, 4 years ago), I could SMELL spring. The wisteria was blooming all around…along with tons of other stuff, and God gave us the most beautiful wedding decor! AMAZING! I definitely feel that Florence has quiet beauty that a lot of people aren’t willing to take the time to look at.

  7. mitali rath Says:

    I Just love the azalea cottages.i wish i could be there.


Leave a Reply

