Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Music Lovers! April 23, 2009

Filed under: Random stuff — erikaivory @ 4:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I come from a musical family.  We are a motley crew or a ragamuffin lot however you want to look at it.  By that I mean that all of us have tried our hand at some form of musical endeavor.  We have guitarists, drummers, soloists, pianists, writers and then me the true oddball, the music therapist.  I love music, how it works, the effect it can have on people, what drives the musician and the beauty that is the final result.

The purpose of this blog today though is to brag on two of my little brothers.  The brother right under me, T.J. Edmond is an amazing musician but also an incredible songwriter.  He is the lead singer and guitarist of the band Beggar’s Guild.  They are releasing their second album and for the next few weeks they will be releasing new songs and videos on their site www.beggarsguildmusic.com.

I checked out the new video and downloaded the song for free called, “Falling Apart.” So great!  Makes me want to jump in the car and go for a spin.  So go get some new music and check out my brother’s beard.  Seriously, under there is a fellow that looks totally like me.  In college people thought we were twins.  That handsome mug is getting married in July too:)

And yes I have 6 other amazing brothers but the second one that I want to introduce you to is Jeremiah Edmond, the drummer for Manchester Orchestra. Another amazing band out of Atlanta,GA Manchester Orchestra also just released a new album, Mean Everything to Nothing. It already made it onto iTunes top 10 list!  Whoot hoot!  And  the song

“I’ve Got Friends” is the iTunes free video this week!  So you can go here to download the video.  Look out for people dressed as bears, Zoinks!  And keep an ear out for mad drumming goin’ on!  Mt brother is truly an awesome percussionist!

Yes, I do come from an amazing talented family:)  Not tryin’ to brag just wantin’ to share the wealth of toe tappin’ tunes!  So you music lovers (Robin, Cookie, Tim, Jenny, Ally, um that may be everybody that reads this blog…)give ’em a whirl and comment back to let me know what you think:)

 

3 Responses to “Music Lovers!”

  1. Julie Baker Says:

    Just listened to 2 of TJ’s band’s songs and loved it!!! I’m not super in to music, but I really liked it. May have to check them out at Downtown Alive in Aug. 🙂

  2. Alli Says:

    So proud of your family, Erika! What a blessing!

  3. Vanessa Says:

    Just saw the youtube clip since I missed them on Letterman – so cool! They were great! You must be a very proud sister. : )


Leave a Reply

