Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Treasures of the sea April 25, 2009

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 3:23 am
Tags: ,

So I really should be doing a gajillion other things (truly, I counted them…and yes that is a number…I think) however I have had this post rolling around in my head and I just had to let it out.  Last summer for my birthday Mark gave me the gift of a day at the beach completely by myself.  Oh my it was heaven and I think I may ask for that gift this year again.  I saw so much that day in the ocean and the tidal pools.  The Lord centered me again and spoke to me about things that were swirling around in my head.

1240625561137

Well, when we were staying on Folly Beach a couple of weekends ago I took a really long walk on the beach by myself.  However I kind of felt like He was walking with me showing me some things.  This is not all coming out on paper making as much sense as it did to me that day, but let’s just say He showed up:)

Isn't that a neat shell fossil?

Isn't that a neat shell fossil?

The seashells that washed up that day were amazing.  I grew up on the beach and have always LOVED it, no matter what time of day, what kind of weather, midnight, sunrise, sunset…I love it.  And I love collecting shells but these shells this day were ones I have never seen.  Everywhere I walked there were the mollusk (let me just say that I love shells but am completely ignorant about names.  New project this summer will be to buy a shell book and identify what we find) shells with the two halves still together.  All kinds of partial  sand dollars (one of my favorites), conch shells, hermit crabs, some beautiful fan shaped shells that I have never seen, fossils, coral, on and on.  The tidal pools were just perfect as well.

Can you see the perfect swirl in the middle?

Can you see the perfect swirl in the middle?

As I walked and kept stopping and stopping and collecting.  Both hands were full and I wanted to pick up more to take with me but I couldn’t hold anymore.  I couldn’t wait to show Mark and the boys when we went home.  It struck me that these were just a tiny peek at the wonders that must lay at the bottom of the ocean.  These were just what washed onto shore.  Yet these were delicate, and each one different, and beautiful, oh so beautiful.  Our magnificent Creator lets us see these glimpses but there is so much more beauty that we never lay our eyes on.  He still made it though and it pleases Him and it is good!

1240625505891

He created it because He can and it pleases Him and He is just that incredible.  As I ponder His vastness it makes me consider how this translates to His spiritual riches.  I think I must pick up the seashells on the shore of who He is and what He is capable of…yet never plunge into the depths of his unspeakable riches.  There is so much more to Him than I am experiencing.  I am sure of it, and He captured my attention with those shells.  Kind of an invitation, a tease, a dare, if you will….to truly dive in.  To put my snorkeling gear on and look at what lies below.  I want to do that!  I love the beauty of those seashells but I don’t want to just put them on my shelf as a now and again memory of that walk.  I want to get my face wet and take some risks to find out what else He has to offer.

Doesn't it look like a beautiful, delicate fan? Or the sand at low tide?

Doesn't it look like a beautiful, delicate fan? Or the sand at low tide?

And just as much as I wanted to share those shells with my boys and pass on this love for the ocean and its beauty.  So much more I want to pass on this desire and thirst for more of our Christ.  He has more for us.   He Is More!  He is the treasure.  Not a good night’s sleep, or aging gracefully, or avoiding sickness, or having a perfect marriage or staying trouble free.  HE IS THE TREASURE!  So how about it?  You up for a swim?

1240625296945

 

4 Responses to “Treasures of the sea”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Great, great post! Thanks for sharing.

  2. jenny Says:

    ah… exactly what I NEEDED to hear today. THank you. My eyes water. What truth. I miss the beach SO MUCH being in Birmingham. It makes me so somesick esp. during the spring and summer months…but God DOES have purpose for us HERE.. and there are treasures on THIS shore. I’m getting long-winded.. but just wanted to thank you and let you know that God has used this to speak truth to me this day. thank you sweet friend.

  3. Robin Says:

    Beautiful words Erika~ love those shells too~
    Happy Friday
    Robin
    All Things Heart and Home

  4. Michelle Says:

    I’m up for the swim!


Leave a Reply

