Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Makes me go, hmmm…. May 21, 2009

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 4:46 am
Tags: , ,

My brain has been sludge recently and I haven’t felt caught up enough to warrant time on the computer.  I am up way too late, but I did take a few moments to check out Mark Batterson’s blog.  So glad I did.  Actually I honestly am always glad I did and if you don’t subscribe to his blog, do yourself a favor and do it.

I would love to have lunch with this guy someday because he is so down to earth but like a sponge.  Anyways, I digress.  He quoted this fella Dave Gibbons. Dave is the pastor of New Song Church in Irvine, CA, author of The Monkey and the Fish.

Dave says, “Scarcity brings Clarity. When resources are super-abundant you can proceed with flawed assumptions for a long, long time. In more pinched circumstances, you have to examine your true values.”

Have to say I love that.  Dave was talking about, I am assuming, in relation to church resources.  However, I have certainly found this true in my own life.  I love living with padding.  It allows me the freedom to make poor decisions, live with sloppy stewardship.  But when times are tight…I realize what really matters and what I really care about.  Do I really care about making sure I eat healthy or that I have like 500 television stations?  Do I really care about getting out of debt or is it more convenient for me to eat out and shop at the grocery store closest to my home?  Do I care about exercising enough to actually run outside or do I have to have the comfort of the air conditioned gym to justify sweating?

Makes me think and take a look at what my choices reveal about my true values.  Hmmm, makes me think.  I love it when something wakes my brain up and moves it from being mush:)

 

One Response to “Makes me go, hmmm….”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I’ve been thinking along the same lines lately. I’m due for a cell phone upgrade and wonder about spending extra for an iphone when perhaps that extra money could have more eternal significance. Hmm, the getting out of debt vs. shopping close to home/eating out- that strikes a nerve for me.


Leave a Reply

