Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Calling all the ladies! June 11, 2009

Filed under: Random stuff — erikaivory @ 7:52 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay friends I have finally carved out a few minutes to put some real thoughts down here.  Balance…that wonderful, elusive word!  I am constantly trying to seek balance in my eating, exercising, cleaning, socializing, time with the Lord…etc.

How about you?  I think women especially struggle with this area.  We need to spend time with our husband, but not neglect the kids…play with our children, but not neglect the housework…have a heart to serve others, but make time for ourselves so we don’t end up emotionally depleted…find time to be with our friends, yet remain focused on our own families and homes.  Sheesh!  It truthfully makes me a bit crazy at times.

My greatest link to finding some sort of balance and staying sane is having consistant time with the Lord.  That does not come naturally to me (and honestly besides Oswald Chambers and John Piper, I don’t get the feeling it comes naturally to most people.)  I do testify though that when I can stick with seeking the Lord daily, so many areas in my life begin to teeter into a somewhat safe place of balance.

Over the past 16 years I have done a number of Bible studies that have taught me how rich the Word is and how powerful it is to bring peace and life to my internal world.  Many of these have been Beth Moore Bible studies.  These studies do usually include a workbook (of which I am a fan, but some people loath them) as well as some kind of small group/discussion/interaction.  However, at least three different times I have done workbook Bible studies either solely on my own, or using a computer program to give me direction and accountability.

I did a Bible study with some ladies through Trinity Pres during the school year and it reminded me of how much I love the dynamic of learning with other women and gaining from perspectives that are different than mine.  Some of these ladies encouraged me to start visiting Beth Moore’s Living Proof Ministries blog. This blog is silly, funny, spiritually challenging and different each time you visit it.

All this brings me to this: Beth Moore is hosting a summer ladies Bible study Me, Myself & Lies by Jennifer Rothschild.  It is a six week study and does have a workbook.  Here is a little synopsis of the study:

Ever wonder what you should say when you talk to yourself?  We all talk to ourselves all the time.  We evaluate everything we do, compare ourselves to others, and even call ourselves names.  We disparage who we are instead of telling ourselves the truth about who God says we are.

Me, Myself, and Lies deals with our destructive, unrealistic, self-talk.  In this study Jennifer Rothschild explores the power of self-talk.  As she takes us through the things we commonly say to ourselves, she teaches us to practice godly and biblical self-talk.

Anyone interested?  On the blog the study technically starts Tuesday, June 23, 2009.  Go here if you want to know ALL the details.  Basically, you do the Bible study on your own and then every other Tuesday you check in on the LPM blog and Beth Moore will give a little 15 minute video talk with some discussion starters.  Here is a fun part (I think), if some of you friends are interested I thought it would be fun to arrange an informal morning meeting at the Chick-fil-A play area on Irby and discuss what we have been learning while our kiddos play in the sound proof play area:)  How about them apples?

And if you don’t live nearby but let me know that you are reading this blog and are doing the study then maybe we can connect for an IM chat session on those weeks too.  Or at least create some email dialogue that provides some accountability and new perspective!  This certainly isn’t for everyone, but a lot of ladies I have talked to don’t have the time during the summer to commit to a full study but still need something to keep them growing and accountable.

So check out the info and let me know by your comment if you are interested and in.  If you do the study, definitely tune in b/c I will remind you about when we will connect at Chick-fil-A.  I already picked up my workbook from LifeWay bookstore and I did the first day of homework this afternoon.  I am starting early b/c I know that I usually get behind.  So maybe this way I can stay caught up:)

It is goooooood stuff, I tell you!  Here are a couple of nuggets to whet your appetite.  “Who you are and what’s in your heart are revealed in the words you speak.”  “The magi’s treasure chest existed to have something to give Jesus.  As we begin to speak wise words to our souls, we do so to ultimately have fitting treasure to offer our King.”  “Who I am and what I struggle with are not the same thing.”

That last one really got me.  I do try to be aware of how my words affect the people around me, particularly my children.  However, that very quickly turns into a heap of self-condemnation.  I wonder if my self-talk was based more on truth instead of self-condemnation, would it in turn affect what comes out of my mouth?  If the words in my head were full of life and I worked on changing that instead of simply controlling my mouth would I find greater victory and freedom in these areas of struggle?

I already have a lot to chew on.  So…think on it, pray on it and give me a shout out if you wanna join me?

 

3 Responses to “Calling all the ladies!”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I emailed Renee about this last week. She was interested and sent an email out to several other people, but I don’t know if any of them replied to her. Depending on what time you want to meet at CFA, I’m in.

  2. Kimberly Says:

    Hey Ericka! Strangest thing…just last week, I was thinking about a devotional I could start and I thought, “Maybe I should ask Ericka about a good read since she always does great reviews!” So anyway, this will be at the top of my list to go through. I just wanted you to know:)


Leave a Reply

