Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Possibilities to Overflowing July 8, 2009

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 3:44 am
Tags: , ,

Today as I was making grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch and listening to my boys play in the background I had this thought…

When we are little kids the future seems to hold limitless possibilities.  When you ask a 5 year old what he wants to be when he grows up you don’t get one answer but usually a variety.  Most children plan on having many careers…fireman, president, ballerina, mommy, cook, race car driver…on and on.

I am usually an optimist but recently when I squint my eyes and try and look into the future I find myself internally wincing in a bit of fear and dread.  I don’t see possibilities but rather potential problems.  What if the economy doesn’t improve?  What if one of the boys get hurt?  What if there are more layoffs?  What if I get cancer?  Who in my family will become terminally ill next?  What if my boys become rebellious?  What if?  What if?

So when does our perspective change?  I like to look into the future and plan and work out and prepare for what is coming around the corner.  However the older I get the more I realize that I may not want to know what I am about to face around that next bend in the road.  This day and what it brings is about all I am capable of dealing with.

I do want to raise optimists though.  I want to see hope in their eyes and they need to see hope in mine.  I know my God is big enough to handle whatever comes, because He is Sovereign and knows what is in my future.  I really am not trying to sound depressing however I was surprised at my own train of thought.  Surprised at this bit of pessimism.  Our God is Hope and that is what He offers us in every way.

So when do you think that shift in thinking happens?  When does our future change from being filled with possibilities to potential problems?  Maybe yours has never changed…you are blessed:)

On a bit of a lighter note, I have been surfing the web for some fun pictures for a family project I have been working on.  I was trying to find a picture of a cup overflowing.  The thought was of how God fills us up to overflowing and how He rains down His blessings on us and they overflow onto others.  I found this picture and it just made me smile and I thought I would share it.

teacups

You like?

 

One Response to “Possibilities to Overflowing”

  1. Cookie Says:

    I do love that picture. The beautiful cups and the rain… He is beautiful and generous – to overflowing… Great find!


Leave a Reply

