Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Rotten strawberries, Ezekiel and Watchmen November 2, 2009

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 4:32 am
Tags: , , ,

Do you ever come across a Scripture that stands out to you because it correlates with something the Lord has begun to teach you…but it makes you groan a big UGH! Because you know that this lesson is not going to be fun?  I know that sounds complicated and possibly something you totally can’t relate to but this has been going on in my life.  So bear with me and if you remotely care I will explain.

A few weeks ago I found a great sale on strawberries, which is hard to come by this time of year, so I bought 5 quarts of berries.  I set about washing them and cutting them up to store in Rubbermaid containers in the frig.  I noticed that the first few strawberries on the top of each quart were all shiny and red.  And when I looked at the bottom of each package in the store before I bought them I was sure to pick out only the containers that looked like they held strawberries free of mold and mushiness.  Unfortunately what I found in each package was that between the top and bottom layers the middle strawberries held a different story.

1256001258846

Nice pretty strawberries

For after I took off the top few in each package I found below one or two strawberries that had large spots of nasty, green, fuzzy mold.  To my dismay each moldy area that touched a neighboring strawberry spread the mold around.  So inside the package I ended up with between 3-6 moldy strawberries in each quart.  I was bummed.  I was able to cut the yucky spots off of a few of the strawberries and save some of the good, ripe juicy areas.

How sad that although I thought I investigated thoroughly,  every container held within it one or two very sick strawberries.  Now if I had purchased those quarts early enough and removed that one moldy strawberry  the mold may have stayed contained, or better yet if I found that little sick strawberry early enough in the rotting process I may have been able to cut off that single moldy spot and saved not only the quart but most of that little strawberry itself!

2009-10-13 20.08.57

Yucky moldy strawberries

Mold spreads, quickly.  Unless it is cut off it will destroy the strawberry and the berries that are surrounding it and touching it.  That poor little strawberry doesn’t mean to spread the mold that is destroying it.  And certainly it would rather be enjoyed in a nice strawberry shortcake, rather than tossed in the garbage as useless.

 

You have to know where I am going with this:)  There have been times in my life when I have allowed some mold to attach itself to me.  It may have been a negative attitude, an ungrateful heart, gossip left unchecked, a complaining spirit toward my husband, a bent toward laziness or some kind of unconfessed sin.  I could give many personal examples.  If left to itself that mold would grow and take over many other areas in my heart and life.  It would start internally but before long it would manifest itself externally.  Before long it would begin to affect those around me…my children, my husband, my friends, their children, people at school, at church, and on and on.  The poisonous mold that was rotting my character, relationship with Christ, witness to others would begin to seep into other people’s lives and begin to slowly destroy them too.

Now a couple things can happen.  The Lord could get my attention through His Word, a sermon or maybe a friend with caring loving words could point out to me this area in need of Christ’s wise paring knife.  Hopefully I would ask him to cut off that decaying area so the rest of my “berry” could be useful.  Or if I do not heed the Lord’s warning that decaying mess could not only render me useless and rotten but it would also begin to destroy those around me.  By not submitting to the Lord’s correction in my life I could unintentionally be hurting those I love.  Without even realizing it I could be poisoning my family and friends.  My decay and disobedience and sin could lead to their unholy habits, disrespectful attitudes and hardened hearts.

Big breath…I want to be aware of what the Lord might be wanting to remove from my heart and life.  If I have mold, please Lord cut it out and help me to stay open to your correction!  This, of course, I do believe is part of what the Lord wanted to teach me and keep me on my face in humility asking Him to keep me clean of the sin that would destroy me.  Then for some crazy reason I decided to read through Ezekiel.  I try to alternate between the Old and New Testaments and it was Ezekiel’s turn.  This book is interesting to say the least.  This dude was trippin’.  You think I am joking?

Well, check this out…

“Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the house of Israel; so hear the word I speak and give them warning from me.  When I say to a wicked man, ‘You will surely die,’ and you do not warn him or speak out to dissuade him from his evil ways in order to save his life, that wicked man will die for his sin, and I will hold you accountable for his blood.  But if you do warn the wicked man and he does not turn from his wickedness or from his evil ways, he will die for his sin; but you will have saved yourself.

Again when a righteous man turns from his righteousness and does evil, and I put a stumbling block before him, he will die.  Since you did not warn him, he will die for his sin.  The righteous things he did will not be remembered, and I will hold you accountable for his blood.  But if you do warn the righteous man not to sin and he does not sin, he will surely live because he took warning, and you will have saved yourself.”

Ezekiel 3:16-21

Okay, wow!  Did you catch that?  I know it is Old school and all but I feel pretty strongly that speaks out to a responsibility on my part to holding others accountable.  And to me it says I have a responsibility to those that are righteous and those that aren’t.  No I don’t have all the answers as to who I am obligated to warn and when I need to be politically correct and certainly I struggle with being non-judgmental.  What I do know is that when God places people in my life that I know He cares for and I see them doing things that hurt themselves and others…I need to speak out.  Does this mean I am now the moral police?   Heck no!

Are you kidding me?  You and I have relationships with certain people though that are placed in our lives for a purpose.  And our purpose in their lives may be as a “watchman.”  Do I like that thought?  Not particularly.  I would rather go out with a friend for coffee and talk about Christmas shopping instead of asking her hard questions, like is she hiding an eating disorder, or is she having an inappropriate internet relationship or if she is hiding her shopping addiction from her husband.  Do we have that role in every friendship?  I certainly hope not.

But I tell you what,  I want and need a watchman or two in my life.  I know that I have at least two girlfriends that would risk our friendship over asking those kind of hard questions.  I know they care too much about me and my marriage and my relationship with Christ to let me rot without them interceding and doing whatever they can to get my attention and turn from my sin.  Those last few verses above in Ezekiel take my breath away.

It says if I see a righteous man doing evil…and pause here.  I don’t believe it is talking about a random gossip or disrespecting our husband every now or then.  I get the impression he is talking about major sin that leads to destruction.  Something that affects lives and families and futures.  Certainly some of those small things unaddressed though can lead to a lifestyle of destruction.  Okay back to the righteous man doing evil…and if I turn away and ignore it.  God will put a stumbling block in their path and they will die.  And I will be held responsible.  Me!  Heavens to Betsy!  This call to accountability involves you and me.

I need a watchman to get in my way, stand in the path that I am headed down to destruction and say STOP!  LOOK WHERE YOU ARE GOING! DON’T YOU REALIZE YOU ARE HEADED TO DESTRUCTION! TURN AROUND RIGHT NOW! If I choose to step around them or push them out of my way then I may die in my own sin.  And did you catch the part that says, “the righteous things he did will not be remembered”?  I can’t live on the good deeds from my past to counterbalance the sin I am now choosing to live in.

Neither scenario is easy or fun.  It sucks if I am living in a way that requires someone I care about to have to come to me to say stop!  But I have needed a watchman in the past and if I need one again, Lord please allow me to be teachable and heed the warning.  Also not fun is the thought of being a watchman in someone else’s life.  A watchman needs to be bold, brave, honest and strong.  A good thought though is that my understanding is watchmen have to take shifts.  They can’t stand on guard 24/7.  Which means hopefully we will be asked to be watchmen in people’s lives for seasons.  That sounds a little less intimidating to me.

Do you have relationships with people that would allow this kind of brutal honesty and transparency?  It means relationship, openness and trust.  It means time and commitment and getting messy in each other’s lives.  We don’t seem to see a lot of that these days.  If you don’t have at least two people of the same sex in your life that would be a watchman for you then I challenge you to begin to diligently ask the Father to bring these someone’s into your life.  That means you need to be watching and looking for Him to answer that prayer and then for you to step out and develop those relationships.  And then the next tough question, is He asking you to step up and be a watchman for someone right now?

Okay that is enough for us all to think about for awhile, whew!  Yes, all from some rotten strawberries:)

 

2 Responses to “Rotten strawberries, Ezekiel and Watchmen”

  1. Thanks…That is some awesome wisdom! I love how He can use random things in our lives to speak to us. It makes me think of the verse, “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.” We need to stay sharp, so God can use us.

  2. what a great illustration from the strawberries! thanks for the message. i have just started Ez this week – and this was great insight into the passage. i hope i too can be a doer ( be a watchman) of the Word, not just a hearer (or reader).


Leave a Reply

