Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

thankful December 29, 2009

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 2:47 pm
Tags: , ,

It has been a great Christmas.  I am acutely aware that I am beyond blessed with family close by, amazing friends, healthy beautiful children, an incredible and supportive husband, good health, abundant resources and a dynamic church home.  Sometimes I am fleshly and silly and become overwhelmed with the stupid things of life like laundry, groceries, my own comforts.

I follow some carepages of families that are battling cancer with their precious little ones.  These are so hard to read but so, so good for me.  Not because then I can feel sorry for them and be thankful that I am not in that battle.  No they are good for me because they stir me to be on my knees fighting with them and they allow me to remember to be thankful and aware of every moment I have.  Left to my own devices I am selfish, lazy, self-absorbed…on and on.

One of the moms shared a quote today that I am carrying with me into the New Year.  I hope it challenges you the way it has challenged me…

“Any man can sing in the day. When the cup is full, man draws inspiration from it. When wealth rolls in abundance around him, any man can praise the God who gives a plenteous harvest… The difficulty is for music to swell forth when no wind is stirring. It is easy to sing when we can read the notes by daylight; but he is skillful who sings when there is not a ray of light to read by — who sings from the heart… Lay me upon the bed of languishing, and how shall I then chant God’s high praises, unless He Himself give me the song? No, it is not in man’s power to sing when all is adverse, unless an altar-coal shall touch his lip… Then, since our Maker gives ‘songs in the night’ (Job 35:10), let us wait upon Him for the music.” Charles Spurgeon

 

One Response to “thankful”

  1. cwperez Says:

    Erika, thanks so much for all your posts, quotes and links to cool blogs. Happy New year!


Leave a Reply

