Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Love & War February 13, 2010

Filed under: Book reviews — erikaivory @ 4:56 am
Tags: , ,

I realize it is hard to believe but I actually finished a book this time prior to posting my review of it:)  And this is pretty amazing when you consider the last two weeks of my life which have included pink eye, a car accident, out of town guests, and 4 family members enduring the stomach bug, including myself.  However, this shows just how AMAZING this book is.

The book is Love & War by John and Stasi Eldredge.  I have read Wild at Heart by John and Captivating by Stasi.  I thoroughly enjoy their writing style and I love the way they both speak to the spirit and soul of a person instead of simply the mind.  So I was excited to be part of this blog tour.

I have read many, many books on relationships and tons of self-help books.  These days I often find myself skimming most of these books because so much are full of things I have already heard or learned.  Which is fine but I was very pleasantly surprised to need to read Love & War carefully and slowly because it was so full of “new” and helpful information!

They are very transparent about their struggles both in the past and recent issues that they are still dealing with as a couple.  This isn’t a pretty little Christian book on marriage.  They deal with making daily choices to love, the side of marriage that is hard and tiring, the internal battle that goes on during conflict, the spiritual attack that marriages are under and the internal work we need to do as individuals to have a healthy marriage.

Mark and I have been married 10 years and actively work at keeping our marriage healthy and growing toward each other.  I learned a ton from his book.  For my Valentine’s Day gift this year I asked Mark to read this book so we can discuss some of the things they address.  One of my favorite parts that I am currently chewing on is the emphasis they place on prayer in marriage.  They discuss in detail the power of prayer individually and as a couple in combating the plans that the enemy has to destroy our marriages.  They challenge couples to pray and do spiritual warfare for their marriage and the issues they face.  They include specific prayers and all the excuses we use to avoid praying together.  Good stuff.  They don’t sugar coat things and I love that.

I think an engaged couple or newly married couple could benefit from this, but I believe couples that have been married a couple of years and realize just how hard it is to stay “happily” married can truly reap the greatest benefit from Love & War.  It is definitely one that I will reread.  I am SO, SO thankful for the opportunity to read this.  I highly, highly recommend it.  I think if you read it you will want to pass it on to other couples that could use it.  They also offer a dvd/group study that I think would be an awesome experience.  So check it out!  I have included the book summary and author info below as well.

So this Valentine’s Day, sure grab your honey some chocolate or a cd but consider picking this book up and looking it over together.  It might just be the best Vday gift you ever give each other:)

You can purchase this book and others online at: http://www.randomhouse.com/catalog/display.pperl?isbn=9780385529808

This was book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah.

Book: Love and War

Author: John and Stasi Eldredge

Summary:

What the Eldredge bestsellers Wild at Heart did for men, and Captivating did for women, LOVE & WAR will do for married couples everywhere. John and Stasi Eldredge have contributed the quintessential works on Christian spirituality through the experience of men and the experience of women and now they turn their focus to the incredible dynamic between those two forces.

With refreshing openness that will grab readers from the first page, the Eldredges candidly discuss their own marriage and the insights they’ve gained from the challenges they faced. Each talks independently to the reader about what they’ve learned, giving their guidance personal immediacy and a balance between the male and female perspectives that has been absent from all previous books on this topic.   They begin LOVE & WAR with an obvious but necessary acknowledgement:  Marriage is fabulously hard.  They advise that the sooner we get the shame and confusion off our backs, the sooner we’ll find our way through.

LOVE & WAR shows couples how to fight for their love and happiness, calling men and women to step into the great adventure God has waiting for them together. Walking alongside John and Stasi Eldredge, every couple can discover how their individual journeys are growing into a story of meaning much greater than anything they could do or be on their own.

Cover art:

 

Leave a Reply

