Living not striving…

Random thoughts and daily adventures in my life

Battling voices March 9, 2011

Filed under: Deep thoughts — erikaivory @ 3:29 am

So I admit that I am a little crazy but just maybe I am not the only one that once in awhile has a conversation inside her head…goes something like this:

“I am so tired…fat…overwhelmed…frustrated…on and on and on…” STOP IT!!  STOP IT RIGHT NOW!!!

I can either let the negative thoughts continue, grab the bag of M&Ms and the scenario does not end pretty…

or stop myself.

Today thankfully I stopped myself and chose my perspective.  I allowed the Truth that I know to speak louder than the internal voice that was speaking lies.  Yes, I did indeed “feel” all those things…fat, overwhelmed and frustrated.  But my feelings aren’t Truth.  They are real but they do not stand up in court.  They change with the wind and with circumstance.  I cannot base my decisions or how I view the world and my circumstances on my feelings.  If I do I will be in big trouble.  Jeremiah 17:9 says, “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?”

I stop, take a deep breath and reframe my circumstance and what I am feeling with Truth.  Not “little t” truth but “big T” Truth.  God’s Word.  What does God say about this?  And that is why I need to be in His Word so each time I am having this internal battle I don’t have to pull up http://www.biblegateway.com to get me through.  When I am consistently reading His Truth and hiding it in my heart through memorization and meditation…it’s amazing how the Holy Spirit uses what I have just recently read to get me through the battle that day.

Perfect example…as I stopped in my tracks when I felt myself going down the “woe is me” road today the Holy Spirit brought this verse to mind.  I memorized it years and years ago and wear it on one of my favorite shirts.  It sifted through my thoughts to the forefront and helped me do battle and beat back those negative, despairing, damaging thoughts.  Romans 12:2 “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

Truth puts it all back in the right perspective.  So I just needed that reminder.  How about you?

 

Leave a Reply

